93 YJ Help. Oil in air filter - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 93 YJ Help. Oil in air filter

Ledlight bar light locks @ oconee off road 706 534 99551 Ton Heavy Duty Steering Upgrade Kit. New and Improved dStainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Unread 02-04-2013, 06:06 PM   #1
JackNCoke
1993 YJ Wrangler 

93 YJ Help. Oil in air filter

Hey everyone I'm new to the jeep world. I recently bought a 93 YJ with the 4.0L. I went to change the air filter out, and I noticed the air filter housing was completely soaked with oil. And I mean SOAKED. So I cleaned it all out and replaced the air filter. I realized that all of the oil had come from the breather hose that leads to the valve cover. So I disconnected the hose and put a seperate filter on top of the valve cover. Then I took the jeep for a spin, and I smelled burning oil. I popped the hood and there was oil everywhere. It was coming out of the breather filter on the valve cover. Will someone please tell me why my jeep is doing this?

JackNCoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-04-2013, 08:47 PM   #2
americanjeeper
1994 YJ Wrangler 

Now was it coming out of the hole closest to the radiator? or the CCV?
I'd check the PCV make sure it is there mine was just an open chamber check to see if you're having a vacuum leak off the intake manifold check everywhere
Could be blown rings

Was the oil the front middle or the back of the air filter?
americanjeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-2013, 05:58 AM   #3
Siva283
1995 YJ Wrangler