JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   YJ Wrangler Technical Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/)
-   -   93, 2.5L Stuttering (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/93-2-5l-stuttering-1326320/)

Zoidman 02-08-2012 07:41 PM

93, 2.5L Stuttering

Hey guys,

I've searched the forums and haven't found a post with my exact problems yet, so I'd try a post. I'm still a newbie with the mechanics, but I'm more than willing to work on w/e! :)

My Jeep has problems with stuttering and sputtering while driving, but unfortunately I cannot replicate the exact conditions that make it stutter, except that it is usually when I'm heavy on the accelerator like going up a hill.

When the car stutters it feels like I've run out of gas, and lose a lot of power in the car. I can shift into a lower gear and try to power through it but sometimes it continues to stutter in the lower gear as well, but usually goes away after a short amount of time It can happen on both side streets and freeways, regardless of current speed and rpms.

Sometimes, when the sputtering is very severe I can hear and feel some kind of thumping inside of the engine compartment. It sounds most like I am driving over a very uneven piece of freeway, with bumps.

I have changed the fuel cap, and fuel filter, put fuel cleaner/additive in the tank, and checked all the fittings in the engine compartment to make sure they are tight... but now I don't know what to do!

Current I suspect the fuel pump...

Please help,
Thanks, Zoid. :cheers2:

BlueBandit 02-08-2012 10:22 PM

Have you checked for strong spark from the plugs, wires, and distributor cap? Might just need a tune up.

Rynfw100 02-08-2012 10:26 PM

+1 ^ Check EVERYTHING. I had something like that, one of the 3 wires on my Oxygen Sensor was slightly halved... giving the computer improper readings, and making it buck.

Does this happen when the engine is cold or hot?

Que89YJ 02-09-2012 05:20 AM

X2 with Rynfw.