91yj 5.3 swap - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 91yj 5.3 swap

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineJeep Wrangler Bushwacker Flat Fender Flare Sale at BaselinGear Installs at CCOR Special

Unread 02-10-2013, 10:06 PM   #1
myke88

91yj 5.3 swap

I bought this jeep last year, I've had a blast wheeling it but it always lacked power on the street. The PO said the motor was a 4.6L but to me it didn't feel like it, so I decided it was time for some chevy love. I've been collecting parts for a few months now, and just this weekend I decided I had enough to begin the swap. I am using Advance Adapters headers and motor mounts with the novak gmax15 adapter, and pilot bearing to keep the ax15.

motor specs:
LM7 5.3L vortec
stock bottom end with arp rod bolts, all new gaskets, bearings, and rings
comp cam .581/.581 224/224 114LSA
LS1 806 heads, ported and polished
LS7 lifters
hardened pushrods 7.350"
patriot dual gold valve springs with titanium retainers
arp flywheel and pressure plate bolts
168 tooth billet flywheel

I am doing all this myself at the auto hobby shop on Camp Pendleton, so I'm only able to work on it 8 hrs/day on the weekends, and what ever time I have left after work on weekdays. I'm hoping to have it done by the end of this month, but we'll see how that goes....and sorry for the crappy cellphone pictures

here's a pre-build pic, the last one I have of it running. this was up in big bear back in november:

motor:

and here is the start of the swap:

pulled the front clip and got to work pulling the 4.0

gmax15 adapter on

old motor mounts gone and ground smooth, GM bellhousing on