91-95 Poly Tank into a 2.5 89 YJ - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 91-95 Poly Tank into a 2.5 89 YJ

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineJeep seats at Jeephut.comEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 02-20-2015, 01:41 PM   #1
jmart2119
1989 YJ Wrangler 

91-95 Poly Tank into a 2.5 89 YJ

There is alot of info on this forum about putting a 20 gallon tank into an older yj but I was unable to find a good write up on it so I figured I would take a stab at a write up. I am no expert so if any info needs to be corrected, please feel free to do so!

Finally got some good weather yesterday to get some work done. I picked up a 20 gallon poly tank to replace my steel 15 gallon tank. The fuel pump in my 15 gallon tank was shot and the poly tank had the fuel pump, sending unit, skid plate and filler hoses included. Plus I wanted the extra 5 gallons.

Started pulling out the old tank:

Steel tank is out:

Side by side comparison:

The sending unit on the poly tank is rectangular while the sending unit on the steel tank is round:

The connectors on the two sending units are different. Here is the connector on the steel tank sending unit:

And here is the connector on the poly tank sending unit:

The way to fix this is issue is to cut the connector off both sending units and solder the old connector to the new sending unit:

Old connector on new poly 20 gallon sending unit:

Now while i have no tank underneath the jeep, I want to cut an access plate in the tub. The reason for doing this is to make the sending unit accessible from the top so that I don't have to drop the tank ever again for repairs such as fuel pump, sending unit, gauge readings etc.