90 YJ cold idle blues - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 90 YJ cold idle blues

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineGrizzly Lockers available at Rockridge4wd.comThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Unread 04-09-2004, 10:07 PM   #1
amg61
1990 YJ Wrangler 

90 YJ cold idle blues

first of all, i am not a mechanic, but i have read as much as any sane person can on the topic of the YJ wrangler and the carter 258 idle problems. i have a 1990 yj, 6 cylinder, 4.2L, 5-speed manual transmission. from the MOMENT i bought this jeep 14 years ago, in feb. 1990, i have had idle and stalling problems. to give further details, i bought this car in California, with all their extra emission standard nightmares, though now i live on the other coast, 3 thousand miles away. the first week i owned it, every time i came to a stop at the bottom of my VERY steep driveway, the jeep would stall. back to the dealer it went, and adjustments were made that cleared this problem up, though i think the jeep then continued to idle no lower than 1000-1100 rpms. anyway, fast forward to the present. over the past 8 years, the jeep has seen very LITTLE driving, and was basically stored for future enjoyment. this past summer, the jeep was brought back to full use. a friend of mine, a mechanic, cleared all the cobwebs, and brought the jeep up to speed. in fact, after some research, i had him install the "Juicebox", TFI upgrade from www.driveajeep.com. start-ups are much better now, but here is the problem. the old idle problems have resurfaced, but only in COLD weather, before the engine has heated up. once the car heats up, the stalling and idle problems seem to minimize, returning to the old 1000-1100rpm idle bas