89 yj smoking... engine swap or ? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 89 yj smoking... engine swap or ?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSteinjager TJ tube doorsAttention to the TJ owners 1996-2006 NEW LED LIGHT OPTIONS

Unread 09-11-2011, 03:24 PM   #1
johnErocket
1989 YJ Wrangler 

89 yj smoking... engine swap or ?

Hey all I'm a newbie to this forum and a Jeep newbie in general.
So anyhow I bought my first Jeep a few months ago now and unfortunately didn't have any knowledge of them. After buying a buddy in Colorado informed me, 89 is headache and tried to guide me to sell and get something else. Well I'm not able to do it, so I gotta work through it.
So lately she's been smoking intermitently, seems like sometimes she does upon start up a bit and others upon stopping (may be just unnoticeable in movement). Being Carburated she's always smelled rich, but now is more apparent. One of my buddies suggestions was an engine swap to Fuel Injected 4.0L right from the start, so I've been looking but upon doing so am seeing I'll need a whole lot more than just the engine... computer, wiring harness, fuel pump and lines etc. etc. etc.
I drive her and though I plan to do more offroad, she needs to be street legal.
Being in CA that means 'Smog checks' every 2 years.
I'd be totally happy keeping the stock 4.2L (tilll maybe a later date, or forever), but ABSOLUTELY have to solve the smoking issue. I recently got a notice that someone reported it, so now 'the Man' is watching me.