89 YJ engine swap - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 89 YJ engine swap

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRuffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO

Unread 11-12-2013, 08:10 PM   #1
kdemoney

89 YJ engine swap

I have an 89 YJ with the 4.2. I am new to the Jeep World. The motor I have is making some pretty bad tapping noises. I am trying to find out if it would be better to rebuild or change to an fi 4.0.

kdemoney is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-12-2013, 08:17 PM   #2
Chrisnvegas
Web Wheeler

1992 YJ Wrangler 

It is usually customary to diagnose the source of the tapping before replacing the motor. It might not be that bad. I have heard all kind of bad noises come from a bad vibration dampener. A worn timing chain can be quite noisy too. Water pumps can make some bad sounding noises too. A worn valve train does not automatically mean motor replacement. Diagnose it first.
Unread 11-12-2013, 08:44 PM   #3
kdemoney

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisnvegas View Post
It is usually customary to diagnose the source of the tapping before replacing the motor. It might not be that bad. I have heard all kind of bad noises come from a bad vibration dampener. A worn timing chain can be quite noisy too. Water pumps can make some bad sounding noises too. A worn valve train does not automatically mean motor replacement. Diagnose it first.
My oil pressure is also dropping down next to nothing. Another reason I am considering changing the motor is for more HP. I put a 4" lift kit on with larger tires.
Unread 11-13-2013, 07:47 AM   #4
owenb95
1987 YJ Wrangler