89 YJ Build - Hintz - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 89 YJ Build - Hintz

FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valuePANDEMIC-USA 50" Double row LED LIGHT BAR!! These thiFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options!

Unread 05-14-2015, 08:54 AM   #1
johny_boy32
2010 JK Wrangler 

89 YJ Build - Hintz

Hey guys/gals. I'm pretty new to the YJ's but I've had a few Jeeps over the years; 00 Grand Cherokee, 08 Liberty, 10 JK Wrangler. I sold my JK about a year ago to get a pickup for hauling my ice fishing gear. Summer is right around the corner here in northern Minnesota & I already missed going topless. So last month I finally convinced the Mrs. to let me get this, an 89 YJ w/ 142K miles for $1,500. It has the 4.2L engine paired w/ a manual transmission & came with a hard top, soft top, bimini, half & full doors. I thought it was a fair deal. I'm fortunate enough to have access to a shop, technicians w/ 25+ years in experience, & a best friend that LOVES working on anything with a motor & wheels.

I've run into a few snags already in the tear down process. Over half of the bolts/screws/nuts have either been rusted or stripped beyond repair. As you will see in some of the pictures, a torch has come into play frequently already with the lift install.

I wanted to make this thread to keep an active account of what I've done & what I plan on doing to this rig. Here is what I have ordered thus far...

Zone Offroad 2" Gas Suspension Lift
Zone Offroad Steering Stabilizer
Zone Offroad Sway Bar Disconnects
Zone Offroad Shackles & Bushings
Poison Spyder Hood Louver
Rough Country Stubby Front Bumper W/ D Ring Kit
Smittybilt Classic Rear Bumper
Smittybilt XRC Rock Sliders