8.25 in YJ? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 8.25 in YJ?

Steering and more from Ruffstuff!The Ruffstuff 9" Disc Brake brackets!Offset Tie Rod Kit From RuffStuff!

Unread 05-20-2010, 01:47 AM   #1
Matt5-9
1994 YJ Wrangler 

8.25 in YJ?

I am getting a FREE Chrysler 8.25 tomorrow, and was wondering why I haven't seen this in any YJ's really? I am still fairly new to the Jeep thing so any input is appreciated. I see it as a better replacement to the D35 that I have, and with a price tag of 0.00 dollars, can't be all bad right?

Anyhow, like I said, input greatly appreciated all.

Josh

Matt5-9 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-20-2010, 01:52 AM   #2
ImpactFabWorks
1990 YJ Wrangler 

I'm sure if more people got them free you would see it more. but when spending cash you might as well go with something better

www.Impact-FabWorks.com

Impact-FabWorks Facebook

Please fill out your profile, It helps us help you!!!
ImpactFabWorks is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-20-2010, 01:57 AM   #3
UltimatE
Resident Audio Guru

1994 YJ Wrangler 

Depends on which 8.25 you get. The 97+ (And very rare late 96 XJs) ones have 29 spline axles and are said to be closer to the D44 in strength, where as the 27 spline axles are stronger than the D35, but nothing to get too excited about.

IMO if its a 27 spline, sell it and use the cash to pick up a stronger, more favorable axle like the 8.8 or D44. If its the 29 spline, then for a price of $0 it would probably be worth the swap.

White '94 YJ Sport
Black '98 ZJ Laredo - 45x60 Surco Rack - 2" Budget Boost, Addco Front Swaybar

Project (s)Low - A build log.