5 pole relay - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 5 pole relay

WJ Shackle Tabs: Tow-Hook Replacements2014 Spartan Locker Special - While Supplies Last! Dana 3FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Reply
Unread 04-14-2013, 07:24 PM   #1
scottontherocks
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 127
5 pole relay

I getting ready to install LED lights on my bumper. I have the relays, but I don't know what the middle pole is for?
Red- led lights
Brown- ground
Yellow- fused power input
Blue- switch
Black- ?

scottontherocks is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-14-2013, 07:32 PM   #2
scottontherocks
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 127
The witch has 2 power poles and 1 ground. Do I rin the black to the second power plow on the switch?
scottontherocks is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-14-2013, 07:38 PM   #3
Stud_man50
Registered User
2005 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 322
if you look on top of the relay it should have the wiring diagram, 87a the middle pole is constant until the "trigger" between 86 and 85 happen then the constant becomes 87 pole. The poles are always number on the bottom with tiny numbers. That is a normal install.
relay_diagram_02.gif  
Stud_man50 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-14-2013, 07:40 PM   #4
Stud_man50
Registered User
2005 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 322
when you turn on the positive trigger the middle pole 87a shuts off.
Stud_man50 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-14-2013, 07:42 PM   #5
scottontherocks
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 127
Great. Thanks for the quick reply.
scottontherocks is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-15-2013, 07:34 AM   #6
scottontherocks
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 127
On the switch in the cab there's two poles for power. Do I splice into # 85 for both of those or run one from #85 and another from a fused positive wire.
scottontherocks is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-15-2013, 10:03 AM   #7
SeanB95YJ
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 1,184
if you're just doing LEDs, why even bother with the relay? LEDs hardly draw anything

unless you're running like a million of them
__________________
[FONT="Comic Sans MS"][COLOR="Blue"]Sean B. - Schenectady, NY - 95 YJ, 350/700r4/NP241, JB Shorty SYE, 8.8 rear, 2" BDS, 1" homebrew shackles, Daystar 1" BL, TJ flares, 35x12.50 General Grabber AT2 on 15x10 Bart D-Truckers, Polyshield polycarbonate windshield, HD over/under crossover steering
[/COLOR] [COLOR="Red"]swap/build thread: [url]http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/after-almost-4-years-finally-my-own-build-swap-thread-1542284/[/url][/COLOR][/FONT]
SeanB95YJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-15-2013, 11:40 AM   #8
scottontherocks
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 127
I've read that when running off road lights, if you don't have a relay, it will over heat and possibly melt the switch.
So...If I connect one of the posts from the switch to the relay and the other direct to the fuse cluster, then wouldn't that defeat the purpose of the relay. I'd still have one wire going direct to the switch.
scottontherocks is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-17-2013, 08:39 PM   #9
bigbossd1030
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB, Alberta
Posts: 2,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottontherocks
I've read that when running off road lights, if you don't have a relay, it will over heat and possibly melt the switch.
So...If I connect one of the posts from the switch to the relay and the other direct to the fuse cluster, then wouldn't that defeat the purpose of the relay. I'd still have one wire going direct to the switch.
That is not what relays are for. They prevent parasitic drains, plus act as a sort of fuse if you will. You will always have a power wire going direct to your switch. Follow the diagram above. As for that middle relay, it's not needed. I never use it for any of my lights.

Sent from my iPhone using JeepForum
__________________
[COLOR="DarkGreen"]/l ,[____],
l----L-[]lllllll[]-
()_)-()_)--o)_)[/COLOR]
[COLOR="Blue"]OFFICIAL JEEPER[/COLOR]
[COLOR="Red"]Any Jeepers in Edmonton, AB
I am on channel 33.[/COLOR]
I live, I ride, I am JEEP.
bigbossd1030 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.