4x4 Posi-Lok - Page 3 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 4x4 Posi-Lok

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRubicon Express Suspensions from CCOR 706-207-4140Smittybilt Hard Tops @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955

Unread 09-05-2011, 01:15 AM   #31
JRJ33P
1990 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFranko View Post
You can't twin stick an NP231.

IMO, the vacuum system is complete ****. I've been left without 4wd when I needed it 4 times. I'd replaced 2 actuators and the fork in it, the 4th time it would have taken another new fork to repair it, even with proper maintenance, the system is decent at best.

I have no experience with posi-trac, but I did my one-piece swap for less. I payed $70 for the shaft, $75 to have my driveshaft balanced and rebuilt, and $50 for the seals and a block off plate. It could be done cheaper if you get the shafts from pull-a-part, and source the seals and plate yourself instead of getting the kit. I payed $45 for 2 spares, wish I knew about that before I payed $70 for one

My YJ has only been driveable for 6mths in the nearly 3yrs i've had it and I've already had to repair a broken vac line. As i have bigger and better plans for the car, i really dont want to be potenitally fixing little things like that all the time. so i am starting to sway to the solid tj axle upgrade.

i dont know, i have some thinking to do! its hurting already lol

Unread 09-05-2011, 01:33 AM   #32
JFranko
1992 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRJ33P View Post