4 wheel drive - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 4 wheel drive

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueComponent speaker deal for your dash - NalinMFG

Unread 02-06-2006, 08:55 PM   #1
dominiakrulz

4 wheel drive

hey guys, finally had an excuse to try the 4 wheel drive on my 91 wrangler that i just bought.... sad thing is it seems to kick on and off, didn't think anything to serious of it, until it just turned off for good. i have very little knowledge of 4 wheel drive. all help would greatly be appriciated

dominiakrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-06-2006, 08:59 PM   #2
cjb7804

Check for vaccum leaks/loose connectoins going to the vaccum motor on the right side of the front axle. The lines run from the engine compartment to a switch on the transfer case, and back up to the axle. Check out all those lines and you'll prob. find something messed up there.
Unread 02-06-2006, 10:10 PM   #3
paintguy

the main vacuum comes from the intake manifold somewhere around the throttle body area and goes to a T over by the battery and then down to the front axel on the passenger side -- the vacuum line(s) does go back to the t-case after that, but I have found the problem usually lies w/in the engine compartment near or under the battery.
paintguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-06-2006, 10:33 PM   #4
Fenix85182
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominiakrulz