4.2 engine has strange knock. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 4.2 engine has strange knock.

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~Advance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 02-25-2009, 05:34 PM   #1
bilwil
1987 YJ Wrangler 

4.2 engine has strange knock.

OK forum brain trust!!
I am new to Jeeps,but have built a few motors in my day, but this has me stumped.....
Motor starts quiet then in 10 seconds or so starts knocking like a rod or piston. Pans off now and no metal in pan or strange looking piston's(viewed from down under). bearings look good, oil pressure @ 40 psi hot. Cam and lifters new, all rockers working( ran with valvecover off) checked with feeler gague while running. SO..... what did the old guy not think of, or what in a heep could make this tick tick in the lower end. Yea I should of pulled plug wires when it was running, just got into it thinking it was a piston...Has anyone heard of problems with wristpins? or the piston cracking on the top side of the wrist pin? or?
The motor is a remanufactured Mopar Claimed to have 80,000miles. Cly. walls straight ,1/2 thousand out, like new .040 over, .010 mains and rods. hope I covered everything.
OK guys let it fly>>>>>

87, Laredo
bilwil is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-25-2009, 05:38 PM   #2
Burnerman
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Sounds dumb but, could it be a crack or leak in the exhaust manifold? Other then the timing chain I would've checked what you already have. Did you do a compression test?
Unread 02-25-2009, 06:18 PM   #3
bilwil
1987 YJ Wrangler