Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

4.0 or 4.2???

Tags
jeep yj
4K views 57 replies 14 participants last post by  YJ4LIFE 
#1 ·
Ok I just recently purchased a 1987 YJ Wrangler Sport, i bought it for 2400$ which to me wasnt that bad and i am going to be using it as my daily. The issue im having is that all the emission controls have been striped of the motor, it dont bother me really but since i can look and clearly see that the motor has had someone in it....idk for sure if its the 4.2 that came with the jeep or the 4.0

Im new to the Jeeps..Sorta, my dad had a couple Willis Jeeps a 12v and a 24v mil specs and ive done Mud Pit Jeep ( in Ms and La )....

also ontop of just getting into this stuff, i just moved last week to MD and have no idea were good places are to get work done here since all my tools and welding machines are back in Mississippi lol

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
like previous stated, the motor has been striped down to the Bare necessities lol which is fine with me cuz i dont plane on doing rock crawling with the truck so i wont be getting into extreme situation to need a FIJ motor, but the tuning is off badly on the carb, it runs fine down the road, im use to old school trucks since i perfer these old type of motor over the new computer BS. but im mostly use to stuff like race motors for mud drags, NEW motors really lol. but this one lags to start with heavy feathering of gas pedal then sometimes goin down the rd u have to continue to feather the gas when slowing down or stoping or slowing down to turn or it dies altogether....but when its running it runs great....

#4 ·