31's or 32's on a 2.5L Engine. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 31's or 32's on a 2.5L Engine.

The NEW Revolution Gear and Axle from 4LowParts.comTHE NEW! VANCO DUAL MODE 15/16″ Big Brake Kit w/BlaEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 03-12-2011, 11:02 PM   #1
Rynfw100
1993 YJ Wrangler 

31's or 32's on a 2.5L Engine.

Alright guys, I have gotten nothing but helpful answers thus far on questions that I have (I'm a Noob) So I have one that pertains to the capacity of the 4 banger and it's ability to spin some big tires.

First off, currently I'm doing an S-10 bastard pack on my Jeep (I like the rough ride), since my leafs are flat at the moment. Also, I'm running with 235/75/15s on 15x8 Rims. Anyways, I figured that with the lift, I would be able to fit 31's or 32's under comfortably.

Now, the issue being, Will the 1 inch difference make a big difference on my Jeep at all, with the possibility of regearing, losing 5th gear as an option, etc.

Personally I enjoy the look of the larger tires, however I'd like to be able to use my 5th gear and still get up to highway speeds (Gotta drive to the romp arounds ) The reason I ask, is that I put an ad up on Craigslist (gotta love craigslist) and I put WTB 32's or 31's, basically to see if I could afford it. Well a guy called me and said he wanted $250.00 for 4 32's with 90%ish tread (Going to look at tomorrow to verify) and they were mud terrains, cannot remember because he called during work . His reasoning was he was changing axels on his Jeep, 44's or 60's also cannot remember, and we was bumping up the size.

Also, consider in your response if adding bigger tires would cause a need for regearing, transfercase drop, etc.