2 bar map sensor - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 2 bar map sensor

JEEP Gear Change Packages From ROCKRIDGE 4WD. We Are DIFFAlloy usa heavy duty ball joint kitsROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Reply
Unread 01-14-2014, 06:41 PM   #1
SPIDEY_CY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nicosia, Nicosia
Posts: 7
2 bar map sensor

Hello. Is it possible to install a 2 bar map sensor on my YJ just by removing the stock 1 bar map sensor and plug by cutting the wires and install another one. Its for a boosted YJ. Will the ECU be ok with the readings of boost? Thank you.
P.s the map sensor is from a saab aero

SPIDEY_CY is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-15-2014, 04:49 AM   #2
superj
Registered User
1987 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: corpus christi, texas
Posts: 6,540
will the ecu read, you will have to try it out to find out. i don;t read many turbo jeeps on this forum. you need to hit a stand alone ecu forum like one for mega squirt and ask on there. i know they had a number of boosted jeeps back about 8 years ago when i was building my bmw up
__________________
Slow ride, take it easy
superj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-15-2014, 08:23 AM   #3
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 15,148
Welcome to the forum. Tubocharging is very ambitious!
The ecu for the YJ cannot be reprogrammed and unfortunately you will need to change the cals to make a turbo work. You need a different repsonse curve for the injectors when you get into positive boost and I wish I could say for sure the ecu will make use of the positive numders from the 2 bar I am not sure. There are a few turbo 4.0l threads here on the forum but there are a couple places that have much better info on doing the turbo 4.0L. Look on these sites:

http://www.4bangerjp.com/forums/ (For the 2.5L but the application is only slightly different)

http://www.pirate4x4.com/welcome1.php (Lots of good info and you will probably be able to find you answer here. The people are very knowledgable but can be very hard on the new people).

http://www.jeepsunlimited.com/forums/forum.php

http://www.fourwheeler.com/

http://www.homemadeturbo.com/

http://www.turbo-mopar.com/forums/archive/index.php?

There is a great way to search any of these forums. I have a thread on how to do it. Use this method and just change the website and you will be able to filter through info much faster:
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/f...oogle-1003734/
And you get something like this:
https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=site%3Ajeepforum.com%2Fforum%2Ff12% 2F+&btnG=Search&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=&safe=a ctive#hl=en&q=siteirate4x4.com%2Fforum%2Fjeep-hardcore-tech+turbo+4.0l+yj&safe=active

I wish I could have been more help. Keep us posted on your project. I would definitely like to hear more of the details.
Que89YJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-15-2014, 09:24 AM   #4
SPIDEY_CY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nicosia, Nicosia
Posts: 7
I have already seaeched but not a clear answer was found anywhere. Mine is 2.5 l and is already turbocharged, but the map sensor dont let the boost rise and cuts fuel. Only at 20% of throttle it can be driven. Thanks for your help anyways
SPIDEY_CY is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-15-2014, 10:08 AM   #5
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 15,148
Did you search:
http://www.4bangerjp.com/forums
The fact you are just adding the 2 bar tells me there is a few issues that are adressed in the threads there. The wide band O2, 2 bar, injector change, adjustable fuel pressure regulator, adjustable map and someway to change your calibration are all needed on the turbo setup. You have to have someway of compensating for all the additional air you are putting in or you will be running very very lean and you will burn the engine.

Read through that forum. There is a bunch of good info and I know it is difficult to find the info you need at times but I run the 2.5L and really liked the turbo idea. Please tells us what you have done to your turbo so far.
Que89YJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-15-2014, 10:23 AM   #6
superj
Registered User
1987 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: corpus christi, texas
Posts: 6,540
mega squirt forums too

http://msruns.com/
http://www.msefi.com/
http://www.msextra.com/
__________________
Slow ride, take it easy
superj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-15-2014, 11:13 AM   #7
SPIDEY_CY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nicosia, Nicosia
Posts: 7
I made all the above that Que89YJ stated but it cuts fuel as the map sensor reads positive pressure.

I also found this http://www.jeepsunlimited.com/forums...-Sensor-Wiring

Last edited by SPIDEY_CY; 01-15-2014 at 11:25 AM..
SPIDEY_CY is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-15-2014, 11:35 AM   #8
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 15,148
Spidey what are you using to change the calibration? The stock OBD 1 controller isn't programmable.
Que89YJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-15-2014, 11:45 AM   #9
SPIDEY_CY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nicosia, Nicosia
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Que89YJ View Post
Spidey what are you using to change the calibration? The stock OBD 1 controller isn't programmable.
Adjustable fuel pressure regulator. Increasing the pressure will increase the fuel that the injectros deliver.
SPIDEY_CY is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-15-2014, 12:29 PM   #10
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 15,148
You cant just adjust the fuel pressure. When you are in boost your calibration needs to change. You have to be running more advance on your timing through the turbo boost.

No it will not read the 2 bar sensor. The 4banger forum has the info on what you need to calibrate it.
This is a good link:
https://www.google.com/search?q=site...bo&safe=active

Look at this thread and they discuss the bar:
http://4bangerjp.com/forums/index.php?topic=5653.0
Que89YJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-15-2014, 01:36 PM   #11
superj
Registered User
1987 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: corpus christi, texas
Posts: 6,540
just build a megasquirt or buy a minisquirt and replace your ecu. when i built mine for the bmw, it was super easy and you program it how you want it to work
__________________
Slow ride, take it easy
superj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-15-2014, 04:28 PM   #12
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 15,148
Exactly. The ecu is the issue. Positive barometric pressure is unusable by the ecu and you need a different calibration.
Que89YJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-15-2014, 05:54 PM   #13
SPIDEY_CY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nicosia, Nicosia
Posts: 7
I know that the ecu is the problem, but being a budget buildim trying to keep the cost low. This build cost me about 700$
I have an mx5 turbo too which is tuned with a piggyback and never had a problem 3 years at 12 psi.
Thanks once again that your are trying to help a new member instead of flaming him
So no 2 bar map sensor. Change of plans then.
SPIDEY_CY is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-15-2014, 05:59 PM   #14
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 15,148
What? What piggy back? If you have a piggy back then you probably have the adapted input for the map. Look at what you are using.
Que89YJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.