2.5 to 4.0 throttle body swap. Help!!! - Page 2 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 18 Old 02-28-2013, 09:49 PM
jonothehut
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCrook View Post
I have a 94 4 banger that I am trying to get a little more juice out of. I swapped to a 4.0 throttle body that I got from a junkyard yesterday. Everything hooked up fine. Crank her up and the engine goes wide open. I shut it off tried again, same thing. Any ideas on what I did wrong? Need some help here.
Thanks,
Tom
I have the exact same issue on my YJ. Only difference is I did swap both 2.5 sensors onto the 4.0 TB before installing the 4.0.
I checked they electrical connections. Everything looks in great condition. I even cleaned the sensors and 4.0 throttle body before install.

I saw on another thread that resetting the ECU might fix the issue? Thoughts on this?
Any ideas on what could be wrong?

jonothehut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 18 Old 03-17-2013, 06:51 AM
jonothehut
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonothehut

I have the exact same issue on my YJ. Only difference is I did swap both 2.5 sensors onto the 4.0 TB before installing the 4.0.
I checked they electrical connections. Everything looks in great condition. I even cleaned the sensors and 4.0 throttle body before install.

I saw on another thread that resetting the ECU might fix the issue? Thoughts on this?
Any ideas on what could be wrong?
Figured it out! Turns out I missed the IAC housing. Swapped that and it worked like a charm.
jonothehut is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 04-11-2013, 09:39 AM
jeepstillhaslif
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: alice
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonothehut View Post
Figured it out! Turns out I missed the IAC housing. Swapped that and it worked like a charm.
Just curious but is the power a noticeable difference. What exactly does switching to a 4.0 tb do for the 2.5. On another post I read you would have to reset the ecm. Is this true, or is it a straight up swap parts out and put back together kind of project.
jeepstillhaslif is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome