1990 YJ-no power, no cranking - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 1990 YJ-no power, no cranking

Labor Day Sale!FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 03-04-2013, 09:53 PM   #1
ClarissaA
1990 YJ Wrangler 

1990 YJ-no power, no cranking

So first off, I am new to working on vehicles. And I don't know much yet. But everyone needs to start somewhere!

I have a 1990 YJ that I LOVE! However, today while driving it suddenly turned off. Checked the battery and its fine. When you turn the key there is no sound or lights. It doesnt even try to crank or make any attemt to start up for me! The blinkers still work so I know its getting power. Its a straight 6 and a standard. I would completely love any help in figuring out what happened.

ClarissaA is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-05-2013, 03:10 AM   #2
Mark05059
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Passenger side below the battery is a solenoid. Sounds like you have melted some fuseable links there. They all connect to one post on the relay so some may be good and others not. This is where I would look first.

1989 Wrangler Black Bone Stock 2.5l 5spd
/l , [____],
|---L--[]lllllll[]-
()_) ()_)==O=)_)
Mark05059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-05-2013, 09:11 AM   #3
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler