1988 YJ transfer case - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 1988 YJ transfer case

THE NEW! VANCO DUAL MODE 15/16″ Big Brake Kit w/BlaSavvy Billet LED Tail LightsCurrie

Unread 08-31-2011, 09:38 PM   #1
bikermwtp
1988 YJ Wrangler 

1988 YJ transfer case

Hi folks, im new to tall this forum stuff and jeeps. Here is my issue. I have a 1988 Jeep YJ 4.2L 5 speed. The transfer cas got busted my previous owner, so i found one on kijiji to replace it with. It has all the same numbers marks ect other than serial number is diff, But the input shaft on the new one i have is an 1/8" smaller than the orignal one that came off it. Does anyone know why this is? its off the exact same jeep i seen it. Im stuck with this one now and not sure what to do. Im looking for info and or how to tell things apart, any help would be greatly appreciated i know very little about jeeps. Thanks for your time!

bikermwtp is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-01-2011, 12:22 AM   #2
Fin_Reaper
1988 YJ Wrangler 

What do you mean 1/8" smaller? OD, ID, Length? What is the spline count? If you still have the BA-10/5, your TC input shaft should be 21 spline.
Unread 09-01-2011, 07:28 AM   #3
Tompatt
1987 YJ Wrangler 

I think he had a NP207 and bought a NP231. there should be a tag. read it and post up what it says or just take a pic of it and post up.
Tompatt is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-01-2011, 07:34 AM   #4
Fin_Reaper
1988 YJ Wrangler 

My 88 4.2/BA came with the 231 stock. 87 was the oddball year for TC's.
Unread 09-01-2011, 08:29 AM   #5
bikermwtp
1988 YJ Wrangler