1987 Jeep Wrangler NOOB - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 1987 Jeep Wrangler NOOB

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsDisc Brake Kits from ECGS

Unread 01-01-2012, 12:57 PM   #1
usmcrecon
1987 YJ Wrangler 

1987 Jeep Wrangler NOOB

Hello all,

I am a first time Jeep owner and purchased a 1987 Jeep Wrangler with a I6 4.2L. I was having issues with it idling rough and stalling when stopping at lights. I have pulled the carb and was informed that the throttle body could be an issue as well.

I could take it to someone to fix as I am not a mechanic; however, I would like to fix the dang thing myself. I bought this as a hunting vehicle for my newly purchased ranch. It doesn't have to be perfect, but I would like it to be dependable and street worthy.

Could someone lead me in the right direction as to the fix for this vehicle. A couple of people suggested getting it running, selling it and purchasing another model Jeep. If this is the case cool, I'll do it. These suggestions came from persons that owned a Jeep dealership, so I am looking for unbiased suggestions.

I have yet to figure out where to find the throttle body and am not finished with the carb rebuild.

Thanks all!

M.A.

usmcrecon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-01-2012, 01:06 PM   #2
scubamc
1991 YJ Wrangler 

Welcome. Check out the FAQ section in the stickies. Lots of information there.
scubamc is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-01-2012, 01:16 PM   #3
Tompatt
1987 YJ Wrangler 

First, I would ask you to fill out your profile
Next, What kind of carb are you dealing with? the stock one?
Tompatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-01-2012, 01:35 PM   #4
wendell
1987 YJ Wrangler