1987 Jeep Wrangler NOOB - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 1987 Jeep Wrangler NOOB

Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!Ruffstuff's Monster Shock Brackets!Even Better Heim Pricing! From Ruffstuff

Unread 01-01-2012, 01:57 PM   #1
usmcrecon
1987 YJ Wrangler 

1987 Jeep Wrangler NOOB

Hello all,

I am a first time Jeep owner and purchased a 1987 Jeep Wrangler with a I6 4.2L. I was having issues with it idling rough and stalling when stopping at lights. I have pulled the carb and was informed that the throttle body could be an issue as well.

I could take it to someone to fix as I am not a mechanic; however, I would like to fix the dang thing myself. I bought this as a hunting vehicle for my newly purchased ranch. It doesn't have to be perfect, but I would like it to be dependable and street worthy.

Could someone lead me in the right direction as to the fix for this vehicle. A couple of people suggested getting it running, selling it and purchasing another model Jeep. If this is the case cool, I'll do it. These suggestions came from persons that owned a Jeep dealership, so I am looking for unbiased suggestions.

I have yet to figure out where to find the throttle body and am not finished with the carb rebuild.

Thanks all!

M.A.

usmcrecon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-01-2012, 02:06 PM   #2
scubamc
1991 YJ Wrangler 

Welcome. Check out the FAQ section in the stickies. Lots of information there.
scubamc is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-01-2012, 02:16 PM   #3
Tompatt
1987 YJ Wrangler 

First, I would ask you to fill out your profile
Next, What kind of carb are you dealing with? the stock one?