Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Since the Fiat DNA is finding its way into our beloved Jeeps...

7K views 39 replies 11 participants last post by  Slot7 
#1 ·
Hi guys, sorry if this is off-topic but I found this video of old Fiat Pandas 4x4 wheeling and I thought I'd share it here. Since Fiat now has a say to how our rigs will be designed in the future, let's take a look at what they have done in the past.

#9 ·
Really cool video, but any 4x4 or AWD that weighs 2,000 lbs can do that with the right Tires.. just saying...

Fiats are known for being unreliable POS cars, and im talking super unreliable.. This is big reason why ill never own anything from fiat chrysler. And this is funny considering chrysler is also known for unreliability. Just look at new FIAT cars.. nothing but transmission issues on brand new vehicles

#11 ·
After the death of the 4.0. There are no jeeps anymore, unless you do a LS or hemi swap. I'm a tech and work on these POS's everyday. As an avid jeeper, it continues to make me sick on my stomach sometimes. Oh well, technology please prove me wrong...

#13 ·
The 4.0 became unreliable after 98 anyway, the heads on them are terrible. The 4.7 V8 is also terrible from what i hear as far as it clogging up and having oil lubrication issues, The 5.7 hemi the earlier ones anyway i hear had some major valve and lifter issues. And the V6 pentastar motors are the same thing..

I talked to this guy with a noisy rattling wrangler it was a 2011 and when i heard it i was like damn man time for a new engine. And he was like well it has 90k miles on it. And acted like that was a crap ton of miles, and im like oh yea... Thats alot, and i said my 98 (was driving the 4.0) has 230k miles and I drove off

The Magnum V6 V8 and v10 engines are pretty reliable though. The only real issue they have is the intake manifold which was purposely designed to fail.