JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   XJ Cherokee Technical Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f11/)
-   -   XJ Screamers-The cherokee audio thread (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f11/xj-screamers-cherokee-audio-thread-680594/)

bluejunior 01-27-2009 11:20 AM

XJ Screamers-The cherokee audio thread

Not having A huge mechanical knowledge base I'm starting this thread to take questions on what I AM an expert at. XJ audio. I've installed four completely different sound systems in Cherokees, all of them beyond what internet fit guides claim is possible, and all but one able to withstand everything but a rockcrawler tumble of a cliff. I'm also great with Wranglers and CJ's and can figure out anything else. To give you an idea of what ive been able to do:

Cherokee: Four 6.5" speakers 2 5.25" and an 8" sub with no cargo space lost and all bolted in tight enough to take rollovers with nothing but a cd skip

Cherokee: Same speaker sizes with dual 10's and dual amps, has withstood spins, wrecks, and a couple trail rides

Wrangler: twin component 6.5" speakers with twin 8" subs, bolt on and marine rated...blows the crap out of a soundbar (although he kept that too)

Cherokee: four 5.25" speakers with a 10" sub bolted in.....tilt tested but not roll over (should work, just haven't tried it)

and of course, the stock upgrade, with all aftermarket marine rated speakers with better size and durability to drown out the muffler and survive the elements.

like i said open to all questions i can tell you where and what to get, how much it'll be and how to install it on a cherokee or wrangler and can help you with pretty much anything else. It seems frivolous but whats a jeep jamboree without tunes that can withstand the trails AND are loud enough to turn the whole site to a club when you take it camping?

nfleming317 01-27-2009 11:24 AM

In the cherokees where did you locate the 3 pairs of component speakers? the 2 sets of 6.5" and 1 set of 5.25"?