Would a fuel system cleaner clog/ruin a catalytic converter? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Would a fuel system cleaner clog/ruin a catalytic converter?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRubicon Express Suspensions from CCOR 706-207-4140Smittybilt Hard Tops @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955

Reply
Unread 11-04-2003, 09:59 PM   #1
400lbguerrilla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 123
Would a fuel system cleaner clog/ruin a catalytic converter?

I recently have used Valvoline's complete fuel system cleaner and perhaps not coincidentally my second upstream O2 sensor in 1200 miles has gone bad. I think I used a different fuel injector cleaner shortly before the first one went bad.

Anybody else had this problem?

Thanks

400lbguerrilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2003, 01:55 AM   #2
thephantum
Senior Member
1997 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Abyss
Posts: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by 400lbguerrilla
I recently have used Valvoline's complete fuel system cleaner and perhaps not coincidentally my second upstream O2 sensor in 1200 miles has gone bad. I think I used a different fuel injector cleaner shortly before the first one went bad.

Anybody else had this problem?

Thanks
Hmmm...I run fuel injector cleaner after every oil change and I've never had a problem. What are the details on your Jeep - year, engine, trans, # of miles, last tuneup, etc.?

Steve
__________________
[CENTER][SIZE=3][URL=http://www.fm2cd.com][COLOR=darkred]Follow Me To Certain Death 4x4 Club VA Chapter Founder[/COLOR]
[/URL][/SIZE]
[size=3][url=http://jeephorizons.com][COLOR=sienna][b]Jeep Horizons - Where Avatars are always free[/COLOR][/b][/url][/size]

[B][size=3][url=http://www.links4jeeps.com/in.php?id=893/]Links 4 Jeeps - Yup, they're free here too[/url][/size][/B]

[URL=http://www.fm2cd.com/chapters/VA_Chapter/VA_Members.htm#cname]
97 XJ Sport 2 door with a bunch of stuff[/URL]

[url=http://www.fm2cd.com/chapters/VA%20Chapter/VA%20Members.htm#dname]
02 TJ Sport with a bunch of stuff[/url][/center]
thephantum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2003, 10:42 AM   #3
MSHarnett
Broke Bogger
 
MSHarnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: , PA
Posts: 8,576
I don't really care for that cleaner either. It seems everytime I use it the engine starts scting funny. I'm not sure if it would affect the O2s though.

If I recommend any of them though, go with Lucas fuel cleaner. That stuff is supposidly the best and hasn't made my engine act up.

Also once a month or two, I like to go to Shell and get that special Ultra gas. It is the supposidly highest octane of any gas company. It makes me feel good even though you spend alot. Like I said though, every month or two I'll get a tank. Once an oil change will probably work too.
__________________
Matt
MSHarnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2003, 04:41 PM   #4
400lbguerrilla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by thephantum
Hmmm...I run fuel injector cleaner after every oil change and I've never had a problem. What are the details on your Jeep - year, engine, trans, # of miles, last tuneup, etc.?

Steve
1998 Cherokee Sport, 4dr, automatic, 4.0L I6 (242 cid), 90K miles.

I'm not sure what all would go into a tuneup but I replaced the spark plugs about 1500 miles ago, spark plug wires about 40K ago, I change the oil about every 7,000 with either full synthetic or a synthetic blend. I alternate between the two.

Thanks
400lbguerrilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2003, 08:34 PM   #5
thephantum
Senior Member
1997 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Abyss
Posts: 780
I should have mentioned that, I use Lucas like 95% of the time. The rest of the time I use STP's product. I change my oil every 3K and then run the cleaner with a full tank of high octane fuel. I have never had a problem.

I'm kinda stumped...unless the O2's were on the way out and the cleaner put them over the edge. I changed my O2's at 66K (along with the full tune up) when my MPG's started dipping slightly, so I'm not sure what the average life span of them is. I would suspect at 90K they were proably ready to be changed anyway, though.

Rock On!

Steve
__________________
[CENTER][SIZE=3][URL=http://www.fm2cd.com][COLOR=darkred]Follow Me To Certain Death 4x4 Club VA Chapter Founder[/COLOR]
[/URL][/SIZE]
[size=3][url=http://jeephorizons.com][COLOR=sienna][b]Jeep Horizons - Where Avatars are always free[/COLOR][/b][/url][/size]

[B][size=3][url=http://www.links4jeeps.com/in.php?id=893/]Links 4 Jeeps - Yup, they're free here too[/url][/size][/B]

[URL=http://www.fm2cd.com/chapters/VA_Chapter/VA_Members.htm#cname]
97 XJ Sport 2 door with a bunch of stuff[/URL]

[url=http://www.fm2cd.com/chapters/VA%20Chapter/VA%20Members.htm#dname]
02 TJ Sport with a bunch of stuff[/url][/center]
thephantum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2003, 08:47 PM   #6
400lbguerrilla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by thephantum
I should have mentioned that, I use Lucas like 95% of the time. The rest of the time I use STP's product. I change my oil every 3K and then run the cleaner with a full tank of high octane fuel. I have never had a problem.

I'm kinda stumped...unless the O2's were on the way out and the cleaner put them over the edge. I changed my O2's at 66K (along with the full tune up) when my MPG's started dipping slightly, so I'm not sure what the average life span of them is. I would suspect at 90K they were proably ready to be changed anyway, though.

Rock On!

Steve
The only one I have replaced is the upstream and it is also the code that is now being pulled occasionally. Also, I replaced the MAP sensor at the same time and it comes up first, then the Upstream O2S????
Have you had any trouble with the MAP sensor?

Thanks
400lbguerrilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2003, 09:10 PM   #7
thephantum
Senior Member
1997 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Abyss
Posts: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by 400lbguerrilla
The only one I have replaced is the upstream and it is also the code that is now being pulled occasionally. Also, I replaced the MAP sensor at the same time and it comes up first, then the Upstream O2S????
Have you had any trouble with the MAP sensor?

Thanks
So you're getting codes for both the MAP sensor and upstream O2? How does the rig run? Any problems with acceleration, hiccuping, missing, low MPG, etc?
__________________
[CENTER][SIZE=3][URL=http://www.fm2cd.com][COLOR=darkred]Follow Me To Certain Death 4x4 Club VA Chapter Founder[/COLOR]
[/URL][/SIZE]
[size=3][url=http://jeephorizons.com][COLOR=sienna][b]Jeep Horizons - Where Avatars are always free[/COLOR][/b][/url][/size]

[B][size=3][url=http://www.links4jeeps.com/in.php?id=893/]Links 4 Jeeps - Yup, they're free here too[/url][/size][/B]

[URL=http://www.fm2cd.com/chapters/VA_Chapter/VA_Members.htm#cname]
97 XJ Sport 2 door with a bunch of stuff[/URL]

[url=http://www.fm2cd.com/chapters/VA%20Chapter/VA%20Members.htm#dname]
02 TJ Sport with a bunch of stuff[/url][/center]
thephantum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-07-2003, 05:51 AM   #8
400lbguerrilla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by thephantum
So you're getting codes for both the MAP sensor and upstream O2? How does the rig run? Any problems with acceleration, hiccuping, missing, low MPG, etc?
When I replaced them(MAP and Up O2), it was all out backfiring and had poor gas mileage. Now it just stumbles just before the check engine light comes on but not nearly as bad yet. In fact, I put two different MAP sensors on it before. The one from Autozone didn't keep from pulling up the code, so I returned it and got a Mopar one so I could at least be warranted. Also, the first replacement O2S was a Bosch and it never worked. It was just like before I replaced it so I had to go Mopar there as well and the problem was solved, for at least a 1000 miles.

I can't figure it out.
400lbguerrilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-07-2003, 06:45 AM   #9
thephantum
Senior Member
1997 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Abyss
Posts: 780
OK...now we're gettin somewhere (cookin' with the proverbial gas). Exactly when does it stumble? i.e. - Under different levels of acceleration, at idle, etc.

The reason I ask is 'cause it could be any one of a number of things (EGR, TPS, IAC, the list goes on). Different symptoms can point you to different solutions or at least narrow down the list of stuff to check.

Steve
__________________
[CENTER][SIZE=3][URL=http://www.fm2cd.com][COLOR=darkred]Follow Me To Certain Death 4x4 Club VA Chapter Founder[/COLOR]
[/URL][/SIZE]
[size=3][url=http://jeephorizons.com][COLOR=sienna][b]Jeep Horizons - Where Avatars are always free[/COLOR][/b][/url][/size]

[B][size=3][url=http://www.links4jeeps.com/in.php?id=893/]Links 4 Jeeps - Yup, they're free here too[/url][/size][/B]

[URL=http://www.fm2cd.com/chapters/VA_Chapter/VA_Members.htm#cname]
97 XJ Sport 2 door with a bunch of stuff[/URL]

[url=http://www.fm2cd.com/chapters/VA%20Chapter/VA%20Members.htm#dname]
02 TJ Sport with a bunch of stuff[/url][/center]
thephantum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-07-2003, 02:13 PM   #10
400lbguerrilla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by thephantum
OK...now we're gettin somewhere (cookin' with the proverbial gas). Exactly when does it stumble? i.e. - Under different levels of acceleration, at idle, etc.

The reason I ask is 'cause it could be any one of a number of things (EGR, TPS, IAC, the list goes on). Different symptoms can point you to different solutions or at least narrow down the list of stuff to check.

Steve
Generally, it stumbles under acceleration though not always heavy acceleration. Sometimes it stumbles under gradual acceleration and also backfires mildly. Occasionally it will backfire more violently but I drive a lot and it only stumbles/backfires about one out of every thirty or more starts I would guess. Even then it is temporary. Today, for instance, it did it but the check engine light never came on. It is still getting poor gas mileage also.

Before I replaced the Upstream O2S, it would even stumble when I came to a stop. It would drop to as low as 200-300 rpm. I don't notice it doing it now but it may be doing so at a less noticeable clip.

Do 1998's have an EGR or TPS? What is an "IAC?"

Thanks

Last edited by 400lbguerrilla; 11-07-2003 at 02:15 PM..
400lbguerrilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.