why you shaking - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > why you shaking

Black Rhino Off Road Wheels + Free ShippingThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! BroughRough Country Lift Kits and Parts!

Unread 08-13-2012, 04:04 AM   #1
JONNYROCKET
2000 XJ Cherokee 

why you shaking

ok, so this is my first XJ well jeep period and im still learning about it.
im not a big mechanic and was looking for advice on how to get my xj to stop shaking at 50 mph ive been told bad shocks and or brakes and rotors. When doing 50-55mph and I go on the brake the shaking is twice as bad. its not the rotors because i've already replaced them along with the pads. i just put new shocks on and the shaking got worse. i have already rebalance the tires which made it better but after the shocks it was back to where i started. ANY SUGGESTIONS WILL BE HELPFUL. i've already put well over a k in parts because the previous owner was clueless about taking care of the jeep.

Last edited by JONNYROCKET; 08-13-2012 at 06:06 AM..
JONNYROCKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-13-2012, 06:06 AM   #2
ShaysXJnc

My xj did this when I had mis matched, un evenly worn tires. I have a 3 in lift and running 31s. I tried putting the most squared off ones up front, and still, awful death wobble between 46-48 mph. Started off as a sometimes thing and eventually it happened every time. Funny, but the more muddy the tires and rims were, the less wobble I got. Finally got a set of evenly worn tires and had an alignment done, and of course, balanced the tires as best as humanly possible... No more shaking to the point of a full on wobble, but it still has a small 'shimmy' that doesn't bother me at all.