Wheel Spacers??? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Wheel Spacers???

Premium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDGZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wSPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!

Unread 10-30-2011, 06:54 PM   #1
OMJinTOL
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Wheel Spacers???

I have a 99 XJ with a 2" lift. I'm getting a great deal on a set of 265/75/15 on canyon rims. Do I need wheels spacers? Are there any handling advantages by using them if you don't need them. I'm new to mods on my Jeep, so any help is appreciated.

OMJinTOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-30-2011, 07:28 PM   #2
XJcruiser
1999 XJ Cherokee 

they may rub the stock LCAs, but you can always just adjust the steering limits. They do affect handling, but not that much. Its more strain on the steering and bearings though.
Unread 10-30-2011, 07:29 PM   #3
donthelegend
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Wheel spacers are used to correct the backspacing of wheels, generally to fit larger tires without rubbing. They introduce issues of their own, like doubling the number of lug nuts you have to torque and making sure they don't loosen up, as well as added leverage and stress on the wheel bearings. Lots of people run them without issue, but if you don't need them, they offer added complexity without any advantages.

I don't know the specs of canyon rims so I can't comment on whether or not you'll need spacers, but if you don't, I wouldn't recommend running them.
donthelegend is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-30-2011, 07:44 PM   #4
OMJinTOL
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Thanks for the feedback!
OMJinTOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-30-2011, 07:57 PM   #5
XJcruiser
1999 XJ Cherokee