what did i do wrong (rms/oil pan & gasket replacement) - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > what did i do wrong (rms/oil pan & gasket replacement)

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineStainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge Bushings

Unread 05-19-2012, 12:20 PM   #1
slayer
1996 ZJ 

what did i do wrong (rms/oil pan & gasket replacement)

Long time lurker, first time poster....

Let me start by saying while I was a helicopter mechanic in the Marine Corps, I never before this worked on my Jeep before...

I have a 1996 Grand Cherokee V8. Here is the progression to where I am...

1) I start intermittently losing oil pressure on the gauge at stop lights/signs. It drops, dings, and then went back up when going again. This went on for about a month but I mostly just ignored it.

2) I drive through an oil change station and within a few days the pressure drops down and never goes back up. At this time a slight leak starts as well.

3) Take the Jeep back to oil change place and tell them whats going on. The manager takes video of my underside leaking from between the pan and tranny and indicates that this is likely the problem with pressure.

4) I call stealership. They tell me it is likely the rear main seal and its a $900 dollar fix.

5) I say no way and I live with the leak until it becomes too much. Being the veteran mechanic that I am, I proceed to buy tools and parts to do the job myself.

6) First day, I go to drain the oil and find that the plug is stripped. Thank you drive through oil change place. I get a new pan from O'Reilly's for next day pickup.