VM TD2.5 Electrical, running problem (Local garages cant help) Please Help! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > VM TD2.5 Electrical, running problem (Local garages cant help) Please Help!

Introducing MONSTALINERô UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineToxic Brakes - 3000 PSI Braided Stainless Steel Brake LineCess Recovery Gear Snatch Tow Strap OffRoad @ ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 10-21-2013, 02:36 AM   #1
Elfin

VM TD2.5 Electrical, running problem (Local garages cant help) Please Help!

Hi All

A newbie here but always in the back ground, checking posts etc
I have a VM TD2.5 XJ 1995 which i havnt had a problem with until now....

When i go to start up, turn key on and nothing happens - no glow plug light, all clocks drop below 0, so you fire it up and it just rattles like mad as if there isnt any oil (but thats been checked). You can turn off and turn key back on and if your lucky dash lights up, all clocks come alive, fire up and runs sweet like usual.

The problem is completly random and sometimes even happens while im driving, clocks drop out and rattle starts for 20secs or so and returns back to normal

This is driving me insane as sometimes this on off procedure works but its becoming worse and worse and is now to the point where its completly 50/50 if it will run right or not. (if it dosnt run right i take something else to work as i HATE driving it - it sounds like its tearing its self appart)

Please any advise will be fantastic.

Elfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-21-2013, 09:28 AM   #2
RLE
1998 XJ Cherokee 

Saw your post. Don't know a lot about this but have a little experience
with the VM 2.5. Did your local garages try anything or have any theories?