Tow Points - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Tow Points

Smittybilt Hard Tops @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955XHD Heavy-Duty Hood Latches for JK and TJ available at OcoFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options!

Unread 03-07-2008, 05:58 AM   #1
cabbotts
1998 XJ Cherokee 

Tow Points

OK, I'm just getting into wheeling and I don't really know many people who already are, so this is going to be a big help even though it may sound pretty basic to most.

So I need tow points on my XJ. I would like both front and rear, but can I get by most of the time with just rear?

I will probably put in hooks on the front, but I need some guidance on how it's done. Can anyone do a quick write-up to let me know how easy front hooks are installed?

Also, I was thinking about this: http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=95594
Will this work for me? I'll probably never do any heavy wheeling but I'm definitely going to get stuck once-in-a-while.

Also, on a stock XJ where is the best place at this point to hook a tow strap? My girlfriend got stuck in the snow and I didn't want to use my Jeep because I didn't want to break anything. So I used my work's plow truck instead (plus the strap was already hooked up to the hitch.)

Any guidance would be extremely helpful. Thanks.

Unread 03-07-2008, 06:25 AM   #2
excellentchoice
1989 XJ Cherokee 

front hook install LINK

go HERE to answer alot of questions.

as for the receiver hook, i would feel better if it were a clevis, but even then if you are using the right kind of tow strap you dont need either type.
if you are using a strap w/o hooked ends just stick the loop into your reciever and put the pin through it.