Throttle Body Parts - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 09-08-2013, 01:01 PM Thread Starter
who_datjeep
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 256
Throttle Body Parts

The first one is a hose that has a cracked end. Is this a CCV hose? Does this end need replacing?

I was wondering what that is in the second picture. Can I get throttle body cleaner on that little rubber hose that comes out?

The third picture I was wondering if I could spray throttle body cleaner in the IAC housing.

Fourth: Can I spray throttle body cleaner on this plunger?

Fifth: I see dirt in my intake manifold: Should I leave this or clean it?

Sixth: How do I write text in between the pictures?

who_datjeep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 09-08-2013, 02:08 PM
cruiser54
Web Wheeler
 
cruiser54's Avatar
1990 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Prescott
Posts: 11,169
1-Yes
2- MAP sensor
3-Yes
4-Yes, but be gentle with it
5-Don't worry about it

If you own a Renix Jeep, you'll want to check this out.

An index to over 30 write-ups can be found in the link below

www.cruiser54.com

My Jeep Technical Photos

http://www.cherokeeforum.com/g/album/1725214
cruiser54 is offline  
post #3 of 27 Old 09-08-2013, 02:15 PM Thread Starter
who_datjeep
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruiser54 View Post
1-Yes
2- MAP sensor
3-Yes
4-Yes, but be gentle with it
5-Don't worry about it
Thanks a ton, Cruiser. So should I just wipe that plunger in 4 with a paper towel after I spray it with throttle body cleaner?
who_datjeep is offline  
post #4 of 27 Old 09-08-2013, 02:17 PM
cruiser54
Web Wheeler
 
cruiser54's Avatar
1990 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Prescott
Posts: 11,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by who_datjeep View Post
Thanks a ton, Cruiser. So should I just wipe that plunger in 4 with a paper towel after I spray it with throttle body cleaner?
Yes, gently.

If you own a Renix Jeep, you'll want to check this out.

An index to over 30 write-ups can be found in the link below

www.cruiser54.com

My Jeep Technical Photos

http://www.cherokeeforum.com/g/album/1725214
cruiser54 is offline  
post #5 of 27 Old 09-08-2013, 05:38 PM
JWELK
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ceiba
Posts: 912
I thought that was the IAC Idle Air Control. Nevertheless, the manifold that attaches it to the TB can also get filled with carbon. If you choose to clean it, be wawwy wawwy careful, (just like hunting wabbits), the gasket is fragile and cannot be purchased separately. Guess how I know this??

Regards,

Jim W
JWELK is offline  
post #6 of 27 Old 09-08-2013, 05:59 PM Thread Starter
who_datjeep
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWELK View Post
I thought that was the IAC Idle Air Control. Nevertheless, the manifold that attaches it to the TB can also get filled with carbon. If you choose to clean it, be wawwy wawwy careful, (just like hunting wabbits), the gasket is fragile and cannot be purchased separately. Guess how I know this??

Regards,

Jim W
But is it okay to shoot TB cleaner in there?
who_datjeep is offline  
post #7 of 27 Old 09-08-2013, 06:00 PM Thread Starter
who_datjeep
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruiser54 View Post
Yes, gently.
Thanks. Where can I get that CCV hose from?
who_datjeep is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 09-08-2013, 08:30 PM
M35A2
Registered User
1995 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Monrovia
Posts: 748
You can use fuel line from your LPS.

Volunteer, American Society of Military History. http://tankland.com/
Just got a 1989 YJ too!
M35A2 is offline  
post #9 of 27 Old 09-08-2013, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
who_datjeep
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by M35A2 View Post
You can use fuel line from your LPS.
Can you explain?
who_datjeep is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 09-08-2013, 10:07 PM
M35A2
Registered User
1995 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Monrovia
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by who_datjeep View Post
Can you explain?
LPS...local parts store.

Go buy fuel line the same id as the cracked hose. Remove the old, cracked hose and install the new piece of hose you bought. Try using a lubricating spray when installing the new hose so it goes on easily.

Volunteer, American Society of Military History. http://tankland.com/
Just got a 1989 YJ too!
M35A2 is offline  
post #11 of 27 Old 09-09-2013, 06:49 AM Thread Starter
who_datjeep
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by M35A2 View Post
LPS...local parts store.

Go buy fuel line the same id as the cracked hose. Remove the old, cracked hose and install the new piece of hose you bought. Try using a lubricating spray when installing the new hose so it goes on easily.
But do I need to buy the whole hose or just the connector to the manifold? Because the only part cracked is that fitting.
who_datjeep is offline  
post #12 of 27 Old 09-09-2013, 06:52 AM Thread Starter
who_datjeep
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 256
My BIGGEST concern is that little gasket that holds the IAC housing to the throttle body. Is it bad if I get it wet with TB cleaner? I really don't want to mess up that gasket because it is not a replaceable item, like JWELK said.
who_datjeep is offline  
post #13 of 27 Old 09-09-2013, 06:57 AM
cruiser54
Web Wheeler
 
cruiser54's Avatar
1990 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Prescott
Posts: 11,169
Just the fitting. Take it in as a sample.

Wet gasket is ok.

If you own a Renix Jeep, you'll want to check this out.

An index to over 30 write-ups can be found in the link below

www.cruiser54.com

My Jeep Technical Photos

http://www.cherokeeforum.com/g/album/1725214
cruiser54 is offline  
post #14 of 27 Old 09-09-2013, 10:28 AM Thread Starter
who_datjeep
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 256
Thanks Cruiser, big help.

My new TPS came without a gasket. I got the most expensive one at Napa to make sure it would last long. However, it didn't come with a gasket. The guys at Napa said it didn't come with one, and to use the old gasket I had. I tried to put the old gasket on the new TPS but it wouldn't fit. Maybe the new TPS has a different design that doesn't require a gasket? Is the gasket necessary? It looks like the TB is sealed off before that so the gasket wouldn't make a difference.
who_datjeep is offline  
post #15 of 27 Old 09-09-2013, 11:12 AM Thread Starter
who_datjeep
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 256
Do you have any thoughts, CJ-7 Tim?
who_datjeep is offline  
Reply

Tags
cherokee , clean , hose , throttle body , tps

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome