Temp Guage not working...not the sending unit - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Temp Guage not working...not the sending unit

New Product Release: Flowmaster CA Legal Direct-Fit CatalyPartsHubDirect: Hella LED Lighting, HID Xenon, Headlamps, Hella Rallye 1000 Series 12-Volt/55-Watt Black Magic Halog

Reply
Unread 01-27-2011, 10:17 AM   #1
LandRover
Registered User
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Head
Posts: 2,233
Temp Guage not working...not the sending unit

So my temperature guage isn't working in the new XJ... I pulled the sending unit out of the old one and swapped it in...no dice. I know that unit is good becuase the guage worked fine in the old one. What else can I check? Is there a fuse for that? I assumed it had to be the sending unit.

__________________
RHD '98 XJ
RE 3.5", Bushwaker Flat Flares,
OR-Fab bumpers, PowerTrax locker,
Sliders, Goodyear Duratrac 33's
LandRover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-27-2011, 01:15 PM   #2
CJ7-Tim
Real Jeeps have dents.
 
CJ7-Tim's Avatar
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: out in the garage - Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 21,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by LandRover View Post
..... I pulled the sending unit out of the old one and swapped it in...no dice. I know that unit is good because the gauge worked fine in the old one. .......
What old one ?


Check the wire harness and wire connector for corrosion or damage.
__________________
.

Between 2009 when Obama took office, and 2013, median annual household incomes have fallen by more than $2,100.

Progressive Liberalism: Bringing you new Healthcare ideas so wonderful, they have to include mandatory participation ......

Originally Posted by Ronald W. Reagan: Government is not the solution to our problems; Government is the problem.
CJ7-Tim is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-27-2011, 01:21 PM   #3
LandRover
Registered User
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Head
Posts: 2,233
Sorry, that was totally unclear. The "old one" is my '99 XJ that my wife drove into a tree. I'm sure the sending unit was good because the guage worked fine in that XJ. So when I put that sending unit into this one, it didn't work.

the harness and connector look great...no corrosion or issues that I can see.
__________________
RHD '98 XJ
RE 3.5", Bushwaker Flat Flares,
OR-Fab bumpers, PowerTrax locker,
Sliders, Goodyear Duratrac 33's
LandRover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-27-2011, 01:42 PM   #4
CJ7-Tim
Real Jeeps have dents.
 
CJ7-Tim's Avatar
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: out in the garage - Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 21,844
The sender inputs to the PCM, the PCM uses the data to run the engine and to display on the dashboard.

So the problem is either the sender, the wires, or the gauge in the instrument cluster. You could swap the 99 cluster into the new Cherokee.
__________________
.

Between 2009 when Obama took office, and 2013, median annual household incomes have fallen by more than $2,100.

Progressive Liberalism: Bringing you new Healthcare ideas so wonderful, they have to include mandatory participation ......

Originally Posted by Ronald W. Reagan: Government is not the solution to our problems; Government is the problem.
CJ7-Tim is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-27-2011, 02:26 PM   #5
severous01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 2,135
well, check the cluster.
__________________
1994 jeep cherokee, xj, 3" rough country springs / bilstein 5100's, 31" tires with trimmed fenders, aussie locked front diff, herculined ext, hella FF75 driving lights on factory fog location
[COLOR="Lime"]soon to be[/COLOR] 4.11 gear and and a ford 8.8 LSD rear and herc'd interior
severous01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-27-2011, 04:14 PM   #6
LandRover
Registered User
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Head
Posts: 2,233
It's so cool having a spare everything. I highly reccomend it. I'll check the cluster next. Hate tearing the dash apart though. What a pain.
__________________
RHD '98 XJ
RE 3.5", Bushwaker Flat Flares,
OR-Fab bumpers, PowerTrax locker,
Sliders, Goodyear Duratrac 33's
LandRover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-27-2011, 04:39 PM   #7
440_Magnum
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 834
Quote:
Originally Posted by LandRover View Post
It's so cool having a spare everything. I highly reccomend it. I'll check the cluster next. Hate tearing the dash apart though. What a pain.
The cluster really isn't bad on a 2nd-gen Cherokee. It helps to lower the tilt wheel ALL the way down.
__________________
2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x2, 3.6 Pentastar
1999 Cherokee 2door 4x4 5-speed (daughter's)
Two big-block Mopars, Challenger SRT8, and a Ram 1500
2001 Cherokee Sport automatic 4x2 (sold)
440_Magnum is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2011, 08:36 AM   #8
LandRover
Registered User
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Head
Posts: 2,233
If I swap the clusters will the odometer reading stay the same, or will I see the reading for the jeep the cluster came out of? where is that info stored?
__________________
RHD '98 XJ
RE 3.5", Bushwaker Flat Flares,
OR-Fab bumpers, PowerTrax locker,
Sliders, Goodyear Duratrac 33's
LandRover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-30-2011, 09:30 PM   #9
LandRover
Registered User
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Head
Posts: 2,233
I swapped the clusters and found out that the odometer reading is apparently stored in the cluster. I got the reading from the old jeep.. I want to swap the old motor (93k miles) into this jeep this summer, so I decided not to use that cluster...i'll swap it in when I do the motor and have an accurate reading on that motor. The temp guage did work though...

I put the original cluster back in and the temp guage magically worked on it too...loose connection apparently. Sweet.
__________________
RHD '98 XJ
RE 3.5", Bushwaker Flat Flares,
OR-Fab bumpers, PowerTrax locker,
Sliders, Goodyear Duratrac 33's
LandRover is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.