Tach wire - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Tach wire

Building a Bumper?Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Reply
Unread 12-31-2013, 01:26 PM   #1
Project1
Registered User
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,211
Tach wire

Does anyone know where the tac wire is. I think it comes off the distributor but I'm not sure what wire it is. Any help would be awesome

__________________
[ ]||||||[ ] ... http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f11/98-green-xj-daily-driver-build-996260/
Project1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-31-2013, 02:59 PM   #2
green97xjsport
Registered User
1997 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Litchfield, Ohio
Posts: 539
Not sure on the 98, I know for older ones, you can pick up the signal from the black wire I think from the coil if you're talking about an aftermarket coil, I know the factory tach coverts it signal from the power control module. Not familiar with the 98, does it have a single coil, or multiple coil packs?
I'm sure a 98 owner will chime in.
__________________
,======o00o.
/__||_l__l,\___\,___
l_--\__\__l_---[]llllll[]
_(o))_____(o))--o-))
green97xjsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-02-2014, 10:35 AM   #3
madmax85
Registered User
1989 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: abilene, texas
Posts: 30
I believe the tach wire for the gauge actually comes from pcm/ecu. If you are running an aftermarket tach you could splice into the negative on the coil
madmax85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-02-2014, 01:05 PM   #4
holysirsalad
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by madmax85
I believe the tach wire for the gauge actually comes from pcm/ecu. If you are running an aftermarket tach you could splice into the negative on the coil
+1 at least on OBD-II, the dash uses the signal from the CPS.
holysirsalad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-02-2014, 08:49 PM   #5
sAe23
Registered User
1995 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Los Angeles / SFV, California
Posts: 2,321
I was wondering about this for my 95 (ODB1)... Where does the ECU get its signal? I glanced through the FSM but didn't find anything (not sayin it wasn't there, just...)
sAe23 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-02-2014, 09:11 PM   #6
holysirsalad
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 306
From the CPS
holysirsalad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-03-2014, 07:01 PM   #7
madmax85
Registered User
1989 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: abilene, texas
Posts: 30
what are you needing to know for? i put megasquirt on my comanche and when i hooked the factory tach up to the coil negative it reads 1.5 times the actual rpm. so in a basic sense the computer sends a 4 cylinder signal to the gauge cluster for the tach. its really weird.
madmax85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-04-2014, 01:52 AM   #8
sAe23
Registered User
1995 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Los Angeles / SFV, California
Posts: 2,321
If you are asking ME, I was just curious. I had two isolated instances of a momentarily dead tach and started to wonder about how it all worked...
sAe23 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-04-2014, 11:01 AM   #9
madmax85
Registered User
1989 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: abilene, texas
Posts: 30
i gotya, glad to help, and just some fyi info for ya
madmax85 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.