Is stock alternator and battery up to powering these things all at same time? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-19-2017, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
Charley3
Web Wheeler
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Is stock alternator and battery up to powering these things all at same time?

Is my 99 Classic XJ stock alternator and battery up to powering 100w high-beams, Kolak ignition system (MSD coil), heater-defroster fan, windshield wipers, and the stock radio all at the same time?

(I have spark-plugs gapped wider than stock to get the most from my MSD coil. My MSD coil is rated to be 1/3 more powerful than stock coil.)

Maybe that's a stupid question. I don't know. I'm not an electrical expert.

Edited in Later. To clarify what I mean about headlights: My high-beams are 100W each. That's 200W for headlights. I have a relay harness and 100/55W bulbs.

Warning: I often edit my posts a few times to get them complete or correct errors.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 03-20-2017, 10:55 PM
Moezer
2015 JK Wrangler 

that's the best way to kill your alt or battery, a good battery will go a long way tho,

I have stock alt and a 995 cranking amp bat and 800+ cold cranking amps, I'm powering my winch led lights and my 55 watt each head light along with an E fan and I think 100 wattx2 spot lights if my radio is on and heat blasing on high my batt dipps a bit then goes back up over 14Vts also if I turn on the e fan it stands still at 14v
post #3 of 14 Old 03-21-2017, 12:31 AM
festerw

2003 TJ Wrangler 

IIRC the Classic trim came with a 117 amp alternator so you should be fine as long as you're you're not sitting at idle for extended periods.

post #4 of 14 Old 03-21-2017, 12:48 AM Thread Starter
Charley3
Web Wheeler
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Heavy Load - Worst Case Scenario

I've done some more research. Here is what I learned for a heavy load, worst case scenario.

=====

150W front wipers (when under load, such as clearing snow). i.e. -worst case load.