Stereo Remote Wire - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 04-16-2006, 01:30 PM Thread Starter
mellow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Glen Miller, ON, Canada
Posts: 231
Stereo Remote Wire

What gauge of wire would you think would be absolute necessary for this? My stereo remote wire doesn't work so what I'm doing is running a wire from the positive on my amp to the remote port on my amp, and just putting a toggle switch on it. Wouldn't 14 gauge wire and a 10 amp toggle switch be enough?


1992 Cherokee Limited 4x4 H.O.
NP242 & AW4 | 31"x10.5" On Jeep™ Honeycombs
JVC Deck
Jensen BP212 (2x12" 1200W Plexi Bandpass w/ LED's)
Cherrybomber GLASSPACK.
mellow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 04-16-2006, 01:37 PM
cjwalkeriii
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 147
You dont even need that thick of wire. 18 gauge with .5 amps is plenty... You can also just run a wire of your ignition so when the key is on so is the amp
cjwalkeriii is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 04-16-2006, 07:08 PM Thread Starter
mellow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Glen Miller, ON, Canada
Posts: 231
Even my stereo isn't like that :P

Right now I can turn my stereo on without my keys. Also, I want to be able to have my amp power 'on-demand' so I have the option of turning it off when I'm driving if need be. The speakers in my signature are no longer in it. Now I'm just running a single Jensen box with 2 12" subs rated at 1200W.

Yesterday my Jeep caught fire... I had the remote wire with a switch idea and somehow the switch fried and all of the wire got toasted. I'm not sure if it was the switch or the mixture of wire I was using. All day today I had it on with 14 gauge wire and it never overhated, so it must have been the cheap switch or the 18 gauge speaker wire I was using yesterday lol.

So I have a switch rated for 15 amps now, and I'm using 14 gauge wire throughout so hopefully it won't be a problem. Thanks for the input.

1992 Cherokee Limited 4x4 H.O.
NP242 & AW4 | 31"x10.5" On Jeep™ Honeycombs
JVC Deck
Jensen BP212 (2x12" 1200W Plexi Bandpass w/ LED's)
Cherrybomber GLASSPACK.
mellow is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 04-16-2006, 07:27 PM
jeeper01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 544
That sounds like an accident waiting to happen, thats why most radios have power buttons on them.

1998 Cherokee Classic... 2" BB on Moabs
1988 Cherokee Limited... 4.5" RC lift, RK longarms, on 31's. Several homemade skids.
jeeper01 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 04-17-2006, 01:45 PM
twisted_ed
Registered User
 
twisted_ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 1,354
DO NOT DO THIS. this will make ur amp on ALL the time, and will drain your battery, this happened to my Girlfriends car, dead every morning cause her amp would not turn off properly. run the remote wire to a toggle on the dash or to the ignition so it comes on only when the key is turned.

1990 Jeep Cherokee Laredo
4.0L
Automatic Tranny
NP242 Transfer case
Dana 30 front, 35 custom rear differentials

Mods:

RE 4.5" Lift
32x11.50 BFGoodRich M/T KM's
American Eagle 058 Polished Aluminum Wheels, 3.63" BS.
Grand Cherokee Rear Disc Brake setup
Custom Downpipe W/ Cat Removed.
Dynomax Super Turbo Muffler.
Surco Roof Rack


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
twisted_ed is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 04-17-2006, 05:42 PM Thread Starter
mellow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Glen Miller, ON, Canada
Posts: 231
Incase you didn't read correctly, I said I'm going to use a switch and wire. I wouldn't hook it up and leave it - I'm not that stupid. I'm in the process of wiring a switch to the remote wire right now. Got the XJ in pieces, poor thing.

1992 Cherokee Limited 4x4 H.O.
NP242 & AW4 | 31"x10.5" On Jeep™ Honeycombs
JVC Deck
Jensen BP212 (2x12" 1200W Plexi Bandpass w/ LED's)
Cherrybomber GLASSPACK.
mellow is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 04-18-2006, 07:48 AM
festerw
Registered User
 
festerw's Avatar
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,690
If you can turn your stereo on without the keys it is wired wrong plain and simple. Use the switched 12V line for a remote to the amp.

Here's a link to wiring colors (you may have to join the site, but it's free and has all kinds of useful information.)
91 XJ Wire colors

Hers - 2011 Dodge Durango Crew
Mine - 2003 Jeep Wrangler X
1998 Jeep Cherokee Classic
festerw is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 04-18-2006, 10:43 AM
UltimatE
Resident Audio Guru
 
UltimatE's Avatar
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Worcester, Mass
Posts: 7,107
Why would you want to wire any of the stereo components so that it will be able to be turned on without the keys? Thats just leading to dead batteries. I had my YJ radio wired like that, drained my battery. I didnt know if it was really turned off or not because the face plate was faulty. Everything should be on a switched 12v. If you put in another manual switch after that, thats fine.

-Matt

White '94 YJ Sport
Black '98 ZJ Laredo - 45x60 Surco Rack - 2" Budget Boost, Addco Front Swaybar


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
UltimatE is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 04-18-2006, 10:55 AM
pnpxtreme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 109
Why wouldnt you just run a wire with an inline fuse to your fuse box on a fuse that was only on when the car was on?
pnpxtreme is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 04-18-2006, 11:06 AM
XJ-NoDough
Registered User
 
XJ-NoDough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Four corners--Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by pnpxtreme
Why wouldnt you just run a wire with an inline fuse to your fuse box on a fuse that was only on when the car was on?
Well that would be too clean and easy... I wouldn't tap into the amp power wire with a switch, there is too much current there, fire and melting wire waiting to happen. Really I would think about a new head unit. The one you've got and all the band-aid solutions are just gonna be headaches, I've been there. But if a new unit is too far off I'd do the fuse block idea.

My DD
'89 XJ Limited
204,XXX miles
Leather, Loaded

4L Selec-trac
Automatic
3"-4.5"ish Homebrew lift
16x8 MB Motoring Rockers
265/75R16(31ish"X10.4") Goodyear Wrangler M/TRs
Trimmed w/ Bushwackers
Stock 3:55 gears

sans big audio
Homebrew intake w/cone filter
"Some people are like a slinky... Not really good for anything, but you still can't help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs." :my dad
XJ-NoDough is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 04-19-2006, 11:43 AM
98RedLtd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mellow
I wouldn't hook it up and leave it - I'm not that stupid.
Your harness caught fire!!!! I don't think the above can be automatically assumed.

98 XJ Limited
Daily Driver
All Stock
178,000 miles

"I once saw protestors holding paper signs on wooden sticks protesting timber cutting and I though...If they didn't cut the timber...How would they make their signs????"
98RedLtd is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 04-19-2006, 03:04 PM
Blake
Redefining body roll
 
Blake's Avatar
1996 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 3,840
Wait... you're putting a switch on the power wire or the remote wire? The thread says remote, but it sounds like you're talking about the power wire. No way you'd smoke a switch on the remote wire.

1991 Lexus LS400
Daily Beater

2006 Ford F250 Larait
6.0 Powerstroke | 4x4 | Crew Cab


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Blake is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Remote Wire For CD Player backwoodz XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 8 01-31-2008 07:36 PM
Need to access a lead wire for stereo amp-where can I find an ignition only hot wire? Mud Machine XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 8 08-18-2006 12:45 PM
99 stereo wire colors? Xjcrusader XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 4 08-11-2004 04:38 PM
help with stereo wire harness jukesjoker XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 2 06-02-2004 07:32 PM
Where does the PCI-bus wire go from the stereo headunit? JTS97Z28 XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 1 04-07-2004 01:30 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome