Slip yoke pulled out too far? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Slip yoke pulled out too far?

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueThanksgiving/Black Friday/Cyber Monday Deals at JeepinOutf

Unread 03-31-2007, 12:08 AM   #1
Akumachan
1989 XJ Cherokee 

Slip yoke pulled out too far?

Ok, so I'm sure this is a total newbie question, but I was under the jeep today trying to figure out why it was vibrating so much at highway speeds, and I noticed it looked like the slip yoke was pulled out a bit, but my jeep is at stock height (and sagging badly). So I took a picture, tell me what you guys think, My guess would be this isn't the source of my vibes.

Unread 03-31-2007, 12:20 AM   #2
balloo93
Little Red Menace

1993 XJ Cherokee 

That is kinda odd. Grab the driveshaft and see if you can move it in and out of the yoke housing.

Specs in Profile.

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/325707/1
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2406854/1
balloo93 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-31-2007, 01:10 AM   #3
lrsmithwhaley
1991 XJ Cherokee 

Mine is like that after I lifted. I was sagging two inches, then lifted it two inches over stock(4 from where it was sitting). I haven't noticed any problems with it, and it's been like that for a few months now. It might be a very bad thing, just letting you know what my experience is. For me, I think that because of how much it was sagging it was "slipped in" a little and when I lifted it "slipped" back out.
Original Rust Jeep Club Member #2
Green Jeep Club Member #183
Air Force Jeep Club #76
lrsmithwhaley is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message