Rocker Panel replacement - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Rocker Panel replacement

The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!3" BDS Suspension Lift Kit - Jeep JK 07-11Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 08-28-2015, 03:35 PM   #1
Fixins13
2000 XJ Cherokee 

Rocker Panel replacement

Disclosure: I am not a mechanic. I cannot weld. I am not a body man. I do not have a ton a high quality tools. I have no attachment to the company whose products I am mentioning here. I paid $800 for this Jeep. I'm not off-roading it. I use it to commute.

I have a typical New England rusty-rocker 2000 Cherokee Sport. I have no idea why but an inspection tech was recently nice enough to pass the Jeep despite the fact that the rockers were mostly missing.

I ordered what are essentially rocker covers from autorust.com You might know them from doing frame sections for CJ/YJ/TJ. I saw a youtube video of them demoing these rocker covers but they don't have a part number on their website. So I called them and ordered a set for $249 plus $22 shipping from RI to MA.

They say you don't have to cut out the rusty bits of your old rockers but I did and I covered the bare metal in Rust Reformer spray paint.

I cut out a lot of crappy rust and a lot of dirt and powdered rocker panel fell out onto the driveway.

I used some ratcheting bar clamps and the terrible stock bottle jack perched on a piece of firewood to lift and clamp the panel in place.

You then have to drive in a bunch of self tapping screws. I used a little 18v impact gun I recently bought.