Replace or McGuyver my air box? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Replace or McGuyver my air box?

Brand New! Quadratec LED Headlights!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 03-09-2013, 04:50 PM   #1
NateWoods85
1995 XJ Cherokee 

Replace or McGuyver my air box?

Hey gang, I'm pretty new with fixing my own cars- my dad (who passed away last month) was always my mechanic for more serious things. I replaced a power steering pump by myself a few months back, but that's about all I've done. I'm just sort of learning as I go- so I thought you guys might be able to give me some advice.

I hit a deer on the left front of my '95 cherokee and need to replace my whole grille assembly and a headlight/signals, but the thing I'm stuck on is the air filter box. The impact pushed the radiator into the existing box and busted it up a little, I'm wondering if there's a way I can fix this thing (duct tape?). I can't find much in terms of a replacement on the web, and I'd much rather do this thing cheap anyway.

Your thoughts?

NateWoods85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-09-2013, 05:25 PM   #2
FISTFULL
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Sorry to hear about your father. Depending on how many pieces it is in, you may be able to just bond the pieces together with JB weld. If not actually broken, but just cracked, you could seal it with some RTV silicone.