Rear Main Seal - How hard is it really? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Rear Main Seal - How hard is it really?

Savvy/Currie Aluminum Control ArmsSavvy FOX IFP 4" Lift Shocks in StockSavvy Aluminum Bumpers

Unread 02-12-2013, 06:39 AM   #1
OldNewJeeper
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Rear Main Seal - How hard is it really?

Hi:

Well I am new to Jeeps. I tried to avoid the temptation but my wife bought me one for Christmas anyway . Here is my question. It checks out great for a 99 with 160K. Now the only issues were a leaking oil pan gasket, a leaking cover gasket and a seeping rear main seal.

Originally I thought I would just change the oil pan gasket but I was told that I might as well replace the rear main seal as well. The oil pan gasket seemed to be fairly easy and within my limited skill set, but I am somewhat concerned about the RMS. You understand that my father and brother are/were gear heads, I missed that gene. Not that I don't understand the technology it is that I just went a different direction. So, here is the question. Is this simply beyond the "first project" and should I just pay the $400 plus materials that I have been quoted.

I really want to learn, but I am afraid I will screw it up and damage the Jeep. I am not a coward but everyone makes it sound SOOOO easy but I keep reading threads about it being done wrong. If it is so easy why do so many people seem to screw it up!

OldNewJeeper is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-12-2013, 06:40 AM   #2
OldNewJeeper
1999 XJ Cherokee 

I forgot to say that it is a Cherokee with I6 4.0L HO engine.
Unread 02-12-2013, 06:59 AM   #3
mayeni
1992 XJ Cherokee