Really stupid cooling question - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Really stupid cooling question

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineGrizzly Lockers available at Rockridge4wd.comThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Unread 07-19-2013, 08:59 PM   #1
VTEK1
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Really stupid cooling question

Unfortunately, I can't say i'm a newbie, but I'm kind of stumped. I just replaced my temperature sensor on the water pump last week. Since I did my Jeep sits right on 210 and the e-fan has been running a lot more than ever. My old sensor read just above 180 all the time and if it got to 210 the e fan would kick on.

Now, MA and the rest of NE have been experiencing a crazy heat wave lately so I'm sure this is more of a coincidence then anything however.....

I'm worried about the e-fan running all the time and does this mean that my old sensor was actually allowing my Jeep to run too hot!?

I replaced it because every once in a while it wouldn't send a message to the dash and would suddenly work if I gave it full throttle..... <---- is this a clog issue.

I'm thinking I'm going to just replace almost everything r/t to cooling because my XJ now has 178000 miles on it.

Black Beast Build

MΘΣΝΔ ΚΘΒΦΘΡ
VTEK1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-20-2013, 09:21 PM   #2
79chiefs
1988 XJ Cherokee 

A cooling system overhaul would be great for the jeep. Get an ir heat gun and make sure the sensor is reading correctly. Your old sensor could have been wrong.
Had/have 6Jeeps/5Cherokees/4XJ's
79chiefs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-20-2013, 11:48 PM   #3
5-90
1988 XJ Cherokee 

Quote: