Rampage Housings/Upgraded Harness Writeup - And A Fix For Some of You!! - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Rampage Housings/Upgraded Harness Writeup - And A Fix For Some of You!!

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 12-25-2012, 11:40 AM   #16
jbudz511
2000 XJ Cherokee 

Question. This may be totally amateur but I am fairly new to DIY projects and jeeps in general. I just received the Rampage headlights as well as the eautoworks harness for Xmas

So heres my question, I was able to follow this write-up, my only question is do you have to do anything with the relays or the red wires? In the write up you only mention the grounds the plugs? Thanks for the help, I can't wait to install them

jbudz511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-25-2012, 11:14 PM   #17
bdheaton
1995 YJ Wrangler 

Relays and Red Wires.

The relays can be mounted anywhere secure and convenient. The red wires need to go to a power source, preferably through an appropriately sized fuse if one isn't part of the harness. You could go either directly to the battery, off the PDC, or some other location.

The plug going into the factory headlight socket energizes the coil of the relay when you turn on the headlights. The red wires bring power into the relay contacts which are switched by the coil. The other side of those contacts goes to the new headlight connector.

-BDH

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbudz511 View Post
Question. This may be totally amateur but I am fairly new to DIY projects and jeeps in general. I just received the Rampage headlights as well as the eautoworks harness for Xmas