Pulling dana 44 gears - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Pulling dana 44 gears

ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO NEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WDThe NEW Revolution Gear and Axle from 4LowParts.com

Unread 04-21-2013, 06:26 PM   #1
johnridesjeeps
1996 ZJ 

So I'm from zj and yj but figured since I'm building a xj 44 for my yj I'll ask here. I'm in the middle of breaking down the axle for a rebuild and what not. This is my first time and don't worry. I will not be setting up the new gears . Right now I got the 4 bolts and 2 straps off the carrier, but it won't budge. How to pull the carrier easily?? Thanks guys! Also I don't want to destroy the gears as I wil try to sell them for a few bucks.

johnridesjeeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-21-2013, 07:26 PM   #2
CJ7-Tim
Real Jeeps have dents.

2000 XJ Cherokee 

Gently pry on the differential housing. I have also read that to take a rag, ball it up, and then using a ratchet, turn it under the ring gear using the ring gear bolts to turn the gear. Make sure its stuffed in there tight! It will start popping out the carrier and then it can easily be pried the rest of the way out.

According to the National Shooting Sports Foundation, AR-15 sporting rifles account for nearly 20% of all U.S. firearms sales.

Progressive Liberalism: Bringing you new Healthcare ideas so wonderful, they have to include mandatory participation ......

Originally Posted by Ronald W. Reagan: Government is not the solution to our problem; Government is the problem.
CJ7-Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-21-2013, 07:41 PM   #3
johnridesjeeps
1996 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ7-Tim