Part time 4x4 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Part time 4x4

Currie Antirock, Currectlync & Lift Kits on Sale!Oconee Off-Road Free Shipping Lifts Tires Bumpers Tops andIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 02-19-2002, 12:49 AM   #1
Lamah

Part time 4x4

I just bought my jeep about 2 days ago (dont even have the plates yet) and notices that 4 wheel high is only part time 4x4 ... is there any way to make that non-part time ? or is the vast majority of true 4 wheelin' done in 4 low ?

i'm pretty new to true offroading, if you havent figured that out already.

thanks,
Jeff aka Lamah

Gone and missed:
1991 Cherokee Laredo
Lamah is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-19-2002, 01:20 AM   #2
12345Bill

The only way I can describe it is this way. Part time is the "end user" term for 4wd that shouldn't be used all the time. Part time being not on dry pavement. The Full time 4wd on some Jeeps is for all the time situations. i.e. Foul weather. It seems kind of backwards. But, I suppose that you would be pissed if your wife took the jeep out and said "oh, but it said full time 4wd, so I thought it was ok."
Unread 02-19-2002, 01:41 AM   #3
XJin96style

Well, I have a 96 and it is part time 4x4! Like Bill said its only for conditions that are not dry! Off roading is fine with 4hi you should have no problem! Now if you plan on going through deep thick mud i would go with 4Lo also if you plan on climing Rocks and stuff that would need slow speed and a lot of traction! if you are just cruising down a trail with moderate mud and water then i wouldn't worry about it!

GOOD LUCK

2000 XJ Jeep sport stock