Oil In Air Filter (jeep Newbie Here) - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Oil In Air Filter (jeep Newbie Here)

ARTEC JK UNDER ARMOR - 4 door Bellypan KitsPoison Spyder DeFender Inner Fender KitsCess Recovery Gear Snatch Tow Strap OffRoad @ ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 10-26-2007, 08:23 PM   #1
indyfireman419

Oil In Air Filter (jeep Newbie Here)

Ok, I know this has prob been addressed here before but not real sure yet on how to navigate and search effectivly. I have a 92 Cherokee 4.0 and stock airbox. I opened it up to find quite a bit of oil in it and on the filter. The parts guy at the local store who is a self proclaimed "Jeep guy" said this is common and that there is no fix to it due to poor design. I would have to think that someone if not DC came up with a fix of there own. He said that there is no PCV valve and that the lines are just vents and will always leak oil like that....

indyfireman419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-26-2007, 09:41 PM   #2
cnskate

I had the same problem with my 94 and I fixed it by replacing the clogged vent hoses and spraying some cleaner in the valve cover vents(I changed my oil right after). The hose kit is cheap and common from a dealer. Find a new "Jeep" guy.
cnskate is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-26-2007, 09:52 PM   #3
pgdyk
1988 XJ Cherokee