Noob here with some Noob Questions... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Noob here with some Noob Questions...

Premium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDGRugged Ridge 8500lb Winch w/ Steel Cable $294.99 Shipped OEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 04-14-2006, 10:11 PM   #1
slver01XJ

Noob here with some Noob Questions...

Hey! This place Rocks. I wish I would have found this before.

I have some quick questions for ya: Well let me give you some info first,
I have had my XJ for about 6 months. I owned a YJ for a while but sold it years ago. (regret that)
I bought the XJ with a lift already on it, I know its the rubicon express 4.5" lift (the better of the two)
and since getting it I put some AT's on it cause it wont leave the pavemant much until its paid off.
Since putting the new tires on I have noticed that there is a vibration occuring at hwy speeds that has gotten pretty horrific.
I rebalanced the tires and got an alignment and no change.
I went to a local shop and they said that I needed some degree shims for the rear end.
I have an cv drive shaft in the rear and a chrysler 8.25 axle (thank god!).
So it is my ujoint makin a fuss..... I can do simple mechanical work so I figured I would do this myself and svae some money.

So my questions are (finally ):
1. what does putting the shims in entail?
2. should I put in a new rear U-joint too? if so whats the part #
3. What degree do I need?

Thanks in advance, chaz

slver01XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-14-2006, 10:21 PM   #2
balloo93
Little Red Menace

1993 XJ Cherokee 

Shim will require you to: