Newbie that needs help! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Newbie that needs help!

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFlowmaster's Force II Axle-back exhaust system for the 201FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 02-20-2010, 06:12 PM   #1
VBwrex13

Newbie that needs help!

I am new to the Jeep forum, but do not own a Jeep yet. I have been looking and searching the forum for a couple days, but wanted to join and ask a few questions to those who know more than me.

I looked at an 89' Jeep Cherokee today, but things did not go well. The car has been sitting over a year so it has not been run. I started the car and it ran alright when idling. It did not have much gas, but I proceeded to drive it out of the driveway and lets just say I didn't make it out of the court. The car died and fealt as if it had no power and did not respond to any throtle response. After that happened the car was a struggle to start with a battery jumper. It would start and stay running for about 20 seconds but would die out. It seemed that once we added more gas it ran better, but would not run well. I am guessing that since it has sat so long that, it is most likely a fuel problem. I know that the 89 is when they had the Renyx engine and it is known for having problems with the fuel injectors. Can anyone help me out with some knowledge as to what could be wrong. I do not want to pass up a good deal if it might only be something minor.

Thanks for your time,
Matt

VBwrex13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-20-2010, 06:27 PM   #2
Trons
2003 TJ Wrangler