New Jeep, plenty of issues - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > New Jeep, plenty of issues

ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wSPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!NEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 01-04-2014, 09:50 PM   #1
stedic
1992 XJ Cherokee 

New Jeep, plenty of issues

Hello, My name is Steve and I'm new to these forums.

I've just purchased my first jeep for $800. I think it's a great deal, runs good with minor issues, hoping some kind soul(s) will help me out with them. However, I'm not a mechanic, I don't have a 1992 service manual (yet) and I don't understand where to look for things like a heat core. I'm gonna need some guidance.

It's a 1992 Cherokee Laredo. 4L V6 5sp Manual model. Good shape, not sure how many previous owners, nor how care was given to this vehicle. There is a 2" lift kit previously installed. 345,000km on the ODO.

On with the issues.

1) Driver seat is busted, it's basically a rocking chair. I haven't looked at the seat frame and I don't know what to weld. Does anyone have any photos they can lend? What sort of welding tool should I use? I don't want to make a trip to pick-a-part. It's 120km away.

2) My Heater blows softly on the highest setting. I can feel a bit of warmth, but nothing that is going to de-thaw my frozen fingers and toes. I read somewhere on forum about pulling hoses out of the heater core and flushing the top line with a garden hose worth of water pressure for at least 5 minutes letting the bottom line drain out?