Need help changing spark plugs - can't get coil rail out - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Need help changing spark plugs - can't get coil rail out

** FALL SALE on all Jeep Optic Armor Windshields **Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 10-25-2008, 07:00 AM   #1
ajcannon
2000 XJ Cherokee 

Need help changing spark plugs - can't get coil rail out

It's my first time changing spark plugs - and I need some help almost before I've even started. I've removed the four bolts from the coil rail, but I am not sure how to get it out. I can wiggle it and it will come loose, but my problem is that some of the hoses get in the way. My real question is do I need to disconnect these hoses, or should I just work around them?

I said it's my first time changing spark plugs - it's really my first time doing almost anything, so I figured it was better to ask first before I just dive in and guess. I read a write-up somewhere on how to change the spark plugs, but I think whoever wrote it had a different model than I've got so I wanted to ask here.

I'm driving a 2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport with a 4.0 I6.

ajcannon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-25-2008, 07:24 AM   #2
xjpro
2001 XJ Cherokee 

In order to do it you will need to disconnect the heater hoses in your way in order to take the coil pack out, and after you do so find your way and move them in every possible way to free them. If im not wrong they rub a little on the A/C compressor before finally going out.-

HTH
Electric fan conversion with spal fan controller
xjpro is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-25-2008, 07:28 AM   #3
OLDoRedoWolf