My Wagoneer 44 build start-to-finish - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > My Wagoneer 44 build start-to-finish

XJ Rail Sale!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!Vanco Big Brake Kit Promotion!

Unread 09-25-2007, 06:46 PM   #1
shmoken875
1998 XJ Cherokee 

My Wagoneer 44 build start-to-finish (56k beware)

First the disclaimer; use this information only for reference, I am a 20 year old mining engineering student, I AM NOT A MECHANIC, none of this was done by a professional, it is all things I have just learned over my few years and I cannot be held accountable for anything going wrong if you try this yourself.

Also, be careful in reading, I organized this in sections so if you were to follow this step by step in a build, you may notice some pictures have parts installed that shouldnít be installed until later. Iíve left just a few things up to common sense (i.e. no pics or directions) because if you canít handle the gaps you might not want to tackle this project.

This build was for putting a changing a Jeep Grand Wagoneer Dana 44 front axle into a Jeep Cherokee XJ (or Wrangler TJ), and in the process, re-gearing it, locking it, and changing to a 5 on 5.5Ē bolt pattern (adapters to be used on the rear). But do take note that it already had the RE bracket kit welded on (about a $400 value)

Well this is how it all started; many, many thanks to FitchVA for offering the axles up to me for a screaming deal not a more than a day after I posted up about my grenaded 30 from Big Dogs: