My goal is to get 25+ mpg from my 99 XJ with 30 x 9.5 R15 ATs - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > My goal is to get 25+ mpg from my 99 XJ with 30 x 9.5 R15 ATs

Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%Santa Kolak Announces: Kolak Exhaust 20% Off Sale!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO

Unread 07-21-2013, 02:32 PM   #1
Charley3
Web Wheeler
1999 XJ Cherokee 

My goal is 25+ mpg in my 99 XJ with 30 x 9.5 R15 ATs, 3.55 diff gears, auto tranny

Preface: The preface was written after this thread already existed.
I am not a mechanic. I don't claim to be an expert. I am an enthusiastic amateur with 14 years experience on three Jeeps with 4L engines. I experimented with improving gas mileage on each Jeep, and I've gotten more successful with each Jeep as I learn new tricks. I have done many things (documented in this thread) as an experiment and hobby to increase my 99 Jeep XJ fuel economy as much as feasible (with my modest mod budget). I'm sharing this info so that it may be of use to others, or at least interesting to some.

In addition to my ideas there are many excellent ideas contributed by others in this thread. Many of the ideas have been implemented successfully, some haven't been implemented, and one failed but was a good learning experience. The details are are documented in this thread. This thread is a successful community project and is ongoing. I appreciate the economodding ideas and advice of others and I sometimes implement their ideas.