My 98 XJ build. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > My 98 XJ build.

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsSave at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft tops

Unread 01-02-2008, 11:05 AM   #1
tntempest
2004 TJ Wrangler 

My 98 XJ build.

Well, I thought I would chime in here and show my build from start to finish. I decided I wanted to go off-road and looked for a beater XJ, well I found an immaculate rust free 98 XJ with 115,000 miles for a price of $2500. I have been driving it now for three months without any major problems and it is so nice I have been on the fence on what to do. I want to do moderate off-road but still be able to drive on the street. Well I broke down last night and ordered all this from Jeep Outfitters and a few other places. Anyone see a problem with my purchases?

RE 4.5 Superflex w/ full springs with upgraded adjustable lower control arms, HD trackbar and mount.

OME Shocks

RE steering stabilizer

RE HackNTap with driveshaft

rear Powertrax no slip locker.

C4x4 tapered winch bumper
C4x4 Rear bumper
C4x4 3/16" rock rails

Smittybuilt XRC8 winch

Maxxis Bighorn's in 32 x 11.50 x 15 (going to try and run these on my factory ECCO rims) may need spacer?

Rusty's exhaust with flowmaster 40 series.

So I will start the tear down tonight, and everything should be shipping shortly. I will post pictures as they are taken

I fixed my leaky valve cover last night and was amazed at how clean the inside of the motor was, no buildup what so ever. I guess the only thing I fear now is broken bolts from the shocks or leafs, but my car is rust free so I am keeping my fingers crossed.

Last edited by tntempest; 02-01-2008 at 07:39 PM..
tntempest is offline   Reply With Quote