MORE vibration over 40mph - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > MORE vibration over 40mph

Smittybilt Products at Oconee Off-Road!Building a Bumper?Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!

Unread 02-24-2006, 10:10 AM   #1
Lenen98

MORE vibration over 40mph

Okay, to start off, I'm no mechanic, but I try, so bear with me....

I have a '97 cherokee, 4WD, manual, about 90K miles...

I'm having the much talked about front vibration problems, starts at about 40mph and gets worse the faster you go. It felt exactly like a tire that was badly out of balance, so I put my other set of wheels and tires on, no change at all.

I just replaced the front U-joints this past summer. I checked them anyays, feel okay.

I though it was bearings, so I jacked up the front end and tried shaking the wheels, no unusual movement, at least not that I could tell.

I read about the front drive shaft, going to the front differential, so I tried shaking that, it doesn't move up and down or end to end. It can rotate slightly, but I think that is normal.

I tried the "putting it in neutral at highway speed and turning it off" method, it still does the same thing.

SO, any thoughts? Might it be bearings, even though there is no excessive movement? Any other clues? Any help would be appreciated, I don't want to walk into a repair shop blind. Thanks!

Lenen98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-24-2006, 10:15 AM   #2
LEAD_NOT_FOLLOW
Web Wheeler
1989 XJ Cherokee 

Welcome to Death Wobble (DW).

First thing I would do is get an alignment. They at that time will be able to tell you if anything else is wrong with the front end. Also make sure everything is tight upfront.
LEAD_NOT_FOLLOW is offline   Reply With Quote